Replacing H/D and Memory on Laptop [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Replacing H/D and Memory on Laptop


Don At PC
06-21-2005, 17:20
My Dell Inspiron 1100 has been acting up the last few days so I contacted Dell and they had me ugrade Flash Bios, Video Drivers and Touch Pad Drivers. As a result of the Power Management problem not being fixed(Can't wake it up in the morning after being on all night with lid closed. Have to unplug A/C and pull battery, then install battery and plug in A/C and then merely touch power button and it's good to go) So they sent me a new H/D and Memory Module for me to change. I have copied my address book, Favorite, Pictures and other files I generated to reload. I was thinking of a complete system back up and reload from that but was leary that it may just move the problem to the new H/D. Besides reinstalling the OS XP Home Edition from CD would probably be a cleaner job.


Just wondering if anyone had any good tips or things to look for during this process, since I have not really had much experience in this. Changing the components is a piece of cake just looking for some encoursging comments about the reinstallation of all the software. I wont start till Tuesday 28th since I will be out of the area a few days.

Thanks in advance for your pending comments.

Washington,D.C.
06-21-2005, 18:21
It has something to do with the battery controller inside the battery shorting out and making the power supply turn off.

The battery definately needs to be replaced.

Don At PC
06-21-2005, 18:42
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
It has something to do with the battery controller inside the battery shorting out and making the power supply turn off.

The battery definately needs to be replaced.

If this is the most probably shouldn't I be able to prove this by merely removing the battery and let it run on A/C power and close the lid as normal at night and the see if it comes up normally?

Washington,D.C.
06-21-2005, 18:47
Yes you should be able to try that.The battery controller is a known problem with that PC.Your problem sounds exactly like that's what it is.

Don At PC
06-21-2005, 18:47
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
Yes you should be able to try that.The battery controller is a known problem with that PC.Your problem sounds exactly like that's what it is.


Thanks, the test will begin.

Washington,D.C.
06-21-2005, 18:59
That's why you must pull the battery in the morning.The problem is in the battery itself.It's cutting off the power.

Don At PC
06-21-2005, 19:09
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
That's why you must pull the battery in the morning.The problem is in the battery itself.It's cutting off the power.



Nope; No Joy. Let it go to sleep with the battery remove and only on A/C Power and had the exact same problem. Thanks for the suggestion, that sure would have been the easy way.

Washington,D.C.
06-21-2005, 19:12
Maybe the battery controller isn't in the battery itself.That would explain why it's so common in that model PC.I'm sure it has something to do with the power management though.

Washington,D.C.
06-21-2005, 19:24
Okay found the problem.It's XP SP2 and Dell video driver.The fix is to revert to an older video driver.

http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scripts-df-external/Filter_Results.aspx?strOSs=45&strTypes=all&ProductID=865&OSFullName=Windows*%20XP%20Home%20Edition〈=eng&sType=prev

You likely have Driver date = 1 23 05
Version = 6.14.10.4020

Get driver dated 8/20/04
Version 6.14.10.3889

Don At PC
06-21-2005, 22:08
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
Okay found the problem.It's XP SP2 and Dell video driver.The fix is to revert to an older video driver.

http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scripts-df-external/Filter_Results.aspx?strOSs=45&strTypes=all&ProductID=865&OSFullName=Windows*%20XP%20Home%20Edition〈=eng&sType=prev

You likely have Driver date = 1 23 05
Version = 6.14.10.4020

Get driver dated 8/20/04
Version 6.14.10.3889


By George I think we have a WINNER. I did have the newer video driver. I installed it on Dell's recomendation. I also e-mailed them when I started to install it and had a warning that it had not been certified for Windows XP and may not work. I exited the installation and e-mail Dell and they responded saynig it would work. Well they were correct in that it did work but it appears that it was the cause of my Power Management problem. I have closed the lid and let it go to sleep twice and both times when I opened the lid it came right up as before.

Thanks for your help. I think I will send Dell a nastey gram for not having their act together.

Washington,D.C.
06-22-2005, 04:16
Current driver

http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/type.aspx?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs&SystemID=INS_PNT_CEL_1100&category=6&os=WW1&osl=en&deviceid=3526&devlib=6


Previous drivers


http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/previousversions.aspx?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs&SystemID=INS_PNT_CEL_1100&os=WW1&osl=en&deviceid=3526&devlib=6&category=6&releasetype=DRVR

Choose the top one of the "Previous drivers"

Washington,D.C.
06-22-2005, 04:20
If you have one working now leave it alone.The drivers are also available on Intel's website too.

Don At PC
06-22-2005, 13:54
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
If you have one working now leave it alone.The drivers are also available on Intel's website too.


I now have ver. 6.10.14.3889 and it has been working great. Now my laptop is working as it is supposed to work. I will be sending the parts Dell sent me back to them with a copy of the e-mail they sent me telling me that the new driver would work.

Thanks for your quick response and help. You were right on target and save me a WHOLE LOT of work trying to reinstall a complete system after changing the H/D.

Another question if you don't mind. I have a 160GB USB External H/D. How would I go about doing a complete backup of my system so that is I had a total dump I could reinstall everything from the external H/D? I was told to go to "Start" -- "Accssaries" -- "Tools" and that system backup would be there but It is not there. Just trying to think of a good way to protect myself from many hours of work trying to do everything manually and remembering the setting.

Thanks again. Dell sure owes me one. You really saved my bacon.

Washington,D.C.
06-22-2005, 14:53
The Microsoft Windows XP Home back up utility must be added(installed) from the Windows XP Home CD.

The Backup utility and Recovery Console are installed by default on Windows XP Professional. However, you can manually install both the Backup utility and Recovery Console for Windows XP Home Edition.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/setup/getstarted/backup.mspx

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;320820


http://support.microsoft.com/kb/302894/EN-US/


http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;307654