user tips for Yaesu FT109RH 220mhz radio [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : user tips for Yaesu FT109RH 220mhz radio


paltic
06-28-2005, 03:58
can you please help me re: a gift from my grandpa...a yaesu 220mhz radio (FT109RH) ;Q ...(how to change frequencies,etc..)

Thank you.

Glock Bob
06-28-2005, 12:36
Do you have a license to operate an amateur radio? By your post it would seem that you don't know much about radios (most have similar operating procedures, although some do not, which could be the case), but I could be wrong. If you don't have a license, get one before you operate. Otherwise, if you're caught, you'll be fined upwards of $10,000 or more and jailed for many years.

That said, the only info I could find was that a magazine reviewed it in November of 1987. If you could post a few pics of it maybe we could figure it out. We'd need a pic of the face plate, rear panel, microphone, etc.

EDIT: I was thinking it was a mobile, but have found it is a handheld. Still, though, pics would be helpful.

paltic
06-28-2005, 18:33
i have the proper licenses/permits for it..

i also posted my request at ar15.com someone posted a picture..

http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=1&f=123&t=364810

Thank you very much. please help me.

Glock Bob
06-29-2005, 12:44
Look for a button with "VFO" printed on it (or near it on the plastic). That's Variable Frequency Output. When in VFO mode you should be able to type the frequency you want in manually. Also, one of the knobs (most likely the one on the right) should step the frequency up and down as you turn it. After you've done that you can program for a repeater shift.

uhlawpup
06-29-2005, 13:59
Just out of curiosity, Paltic, what's your callsign?

martho
06-29-2005, 17:56
His answer on the other thread is he is not a US citizen and has the appropriate license from his country. FWIW

uhlawpup
06-30-2005, 14:16
Originally posted by martho
His answer on the other thread is he is not a US citizen and has the appropriate license from his country. FWIW

Thanks, Martho. 220 is NOT a world-wide ham band. I think it is only valid here in Region 2. It has other uses in 1 and 3.

paltic
06-30-2005, 18:56
i might also add that my radio is a portable/handheld only and not a base radio. Thank you for your help.