Hook laptop to desktop via USB? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Hook laptop to desktop via USB?


Critter
06-28-2005, 07:53
What would happen if I hooked my laptop to my desktop via a USB cable? Could I back-up the computers hardrives to each other so they 'match' and I have all my info on both computers or is it a no-no?

HerrGlock
06-28-2005, 08:14
They both have ethernet ports?

Get a cross-over cable, it's a whole lot faster.
DanH

mfackler
06-28-2005, 11:06
Be CAREFUL

Remember I believe USB has Power on the cable. It would be like putting 2 + wires together. You may want to check HERE (http://www.usbgear.com/USB-Data-Transfer.html) This may be what you want.

Mike

Critter
06-29-2005, 06:29
I was kind of concerned about the power that is present in the USB port, I certainly didn't want to fry anything. I think my best bet may be to pay someone to come in and set up my wireless network. I have failed miserably many times and I thought I have followed instructions to the 'T' that Windows puts out and the advice I've got from here, but no-joy.

I'll look into those cables, they may be the best bet.

Would the Ethernet to Ethernet have power present? I do have e cards in both and plenty of cables.

HerrGlock
06-29-2005, 06:40
Originally posted by Critter
Would the Ethernet to Ethernet have power present? I do have e cards in both and plenty of cables.

Go to the computer store. Ask for a "crossover cable"

Set one computer to:
IP address 192.168.0.1
Network 192.168.0.0
Broadcast 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway 192.168.0.5 (doesn't matter but it'll hollar if you don't have this)

the other computer
IP address 192.168.0.2
Network 192.168.0.0
Broadcast 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway 192.168.0.5

Plug a cable end into each computer. Sit at the .1 computer.

START->RUN type "cmd" into the box. When the screen comes up type
ping 192.168.0.2

Sit at the .2 computer.
START->RUN type "cmd" into the box. When the screen comes up type
ping 192.168.0.1

You should see three return times. You'll know it when you see it. This allows each computer to put the other one in its knowledge base of the network.

From the .1 computer share the directory you want to copy. Make sure you have zero password requirements, zero "protection". From the .2 computer, explore the network for all computers near you, you'll see the .1 computer's shared drive. Copy whatever you need.

Go back to the .1 computer and turn off all sharing for that directory.

DanH

mfackler
06-29-2005, 08:30
This (http://www.smartronix.com/smx_products/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&product_id=86) crossover adapters are cool if you like gadgets.

GLOCKFAN4LIFE
06-29-2005, 11:08
very good post herr glock nice job....

David_G17
06-29-2005, 12:09
Originally posted by HerrGlock
Go to the computer store. Ask for a "crossover cable"

Set one computer to:
IP address 192.168.0.1
Network 192.168.0.0
Broadcast 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway 192.168.0.5 (doesn't matter but it'll hollar if you don't have this)

the other computer
IP address 192.168.0.2
Network 192.168.0.0
Broadcast 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway 192.168.0.5

Plug a cable end into each computer. Sit at the .1 computer.

START->RUN type "cmd" into the box. When the screen comes up type
ping 192.168.0.2

Sit at the .2 computer.
START->RUN type "cmd" into the box. When the screen comes up type
ping 192.168.0.1

You should see three return times.

will he have to disable XP's firewall? it seems like i read somewhere that with service pack 2 of XP installed on a machine, ping is blocked by default.

HerrGlock
06-29-2005, 12:38
Originally posted by David_G17
will he have to disable XP's firewall? it seems like i read somewhere that with service pack 2 of XP installed on a machine, ping is blocked by default.

Probably, but if I'm reading it right, I would not think the service pack is installed.

Let us know if the above works and what problems you have, if any.

Thanks
DanH

Critter
06-29-2005, 14:18
Thanks Dan, I'm going to give that a whirl. I'll go to the 'puter store this weekend and pick up a cable.

CalGlock
06-30-2005, 21:41
Originally posted by Critter
What would happen if I hooked my laptop to my desktop via a USB cable? Could I back-up the computers hardrives to each other so they 'match' and I have all my info on both computers or is it a no-no? I just did the crossover cable on mine. I did the same thing you want to do. It's easy and I know little about computers. With XP you just follow the wizard instuctions for setting up a home network.:)