Lost PW need to remove Zone Alarm help [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Lost PW need to remove Zone Alarm help


06-30-2005, 18:04
I built a computer for a friends son so he can play his games and do his school work.

His parents got Zone Alarm or Zone Alarm Pro (not sure which) and they set it up to block sites they didnt want him to visit by using the password protection feature on ZA. Apparently they dont remember the password and he is unable to play his new games on the interent. ZA is of course asking for a password when he trys to play the games, they click "allow insert game name here to access the interent" but they dont know it.

Is it possible to remove a PW protected ZA without the PW and w/o reinstalling Windows and all his programs?

I have yet to try and do it myself, i am supposed to go try on Friday or Sat. Any ideas would be helpfull.

Andy

Washington,D.C.
06-30-2005, 18:31
http://www.zonealarmpro.bravehost.com/faq.htm#2

2) To erase your settings, do the following:



1. If you have it checked, uncheck "load ZoneAlarm at startup" in the overview tab.
2. Reboot into safe mode. (This is not optional)
3. Go into the folder named internet logs, which is located in your windows directory. For windows 98/ME it's in c:\windows. For windows XP/NT/2000 this is usually c:\winnt. If you can't find it, do a search for it with "find files/folders".
4. Open the folder and delete everything in it.
5. Reboot into windows as you normally would and start ZoneAlarm manually. Check "load ZoneAlarm at startup" again.
6. Do your settings over.

For Windows 98/ME

http://nh2.nohold.net/noHoldCust25/Prod_1/Articles55646/CompleteUninstallNonNT.html

For Windows 2000/XP

http://nh2.nohold.net/noHoldCust25/Prod_1/Articles55646/CompleteUninstalNT.html

Washington,D.C.
06-30-2005, 18:34
To clear the password, you have to clear all of your ZoneAlarm settings. View [FAQ question #2] on instructions to clear the database.

To erase your settings, do the following:



1. If you have it checked, uncheck "load ZoneAlarm at startup" in the overview tab.
2. Reboot into safe mode. (This is not optional)
3. Go into the folder named internet logs, which is located in your windows directory. For windows 98/ME it's in c:\windows. For windows XP/NT/2000 this is usually c:\winnt. If you can't find it, do a search for it with "find files/folders".
4. Open the folder and delete everything in it.
5. Reboot into windows as you normally would and start ZoneAlarm manually. Check "load ZoneAlarm at startup" again.
6. Do your settings over.

06-30-2005, 18:41
Thx DC i will give it a shot when i get my hands on the computer. Looks pretty simple, i may even try to walk them through it over the phone.

Andy

Washington,D.C.
06-30-2005, 18:45
In the Zone Alarm help files under "Installation and Uninstallation" there is a complete list of files, drivers and registry entries installed by Zone Alarm for each OS. Remove the listed entries for the applicable OS and reboot.

07-05-2005, 19:19
DC

He was able to convice his mom to upgrade him to a P4 3Ghz and a gig of RAM.

I get to build it, i dont mind its a lot of fun for me. I need a MB, CPU and RAM. I have a limited budget of $400 any MB and CPUs i should consider on my limited bankroll.

He will be using his non SATA HDD and his current CD burner also. His current PC is a P3 300mhz. The HDD is relativley new so we are going to utilize it.

any ideas ?

Andy

Washington,D.C.
07-05-2005, 19:31
I normally buy from Zip Zoom Fly because I know I can trust them.

http://www.zipzoomfly.com

I'll give you a short list shortly.

Washington,D.C.
07-05-2005, 19:56
MB- http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=240301

CPU-

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=80661-1

Memory-

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=80098-20

Power Supply Unit-

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=270401

These will give you a good reliable base.Hopefully he has an AGP video card and full size ATX case.The power supply from a P3 won't work with a P4.

07-05-2005, 20:07
Many thx, iu will browse your links.

Thx for the zip zoom link i got from one of your other posts, that will come in handy.

Andy