Best way to strecth my hamstings [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Best way to strecth my hamstings

crater
07-15-2005, 17:20
First post in the forum and looking for help. I have had three back operations, I live alone and I'm 59 years old. There are times that I can hardly put on my shoes, and I know I need to strecth the hamstrings. I can't even sit on the floor and put my legs straight out. Sleeping is always a problem, as I can't straighten my leg's out and sleep in the fetal position.

What are someways that a person living alone can do this. I cannot afford physical therapy and worst, I can't afford to take any more days off from work, because of my pain.

Appreciate any suggestions..
Thanks

garythenuke
07-16-2005, 01:51
I have no direct experience with this, so anything I say will be pure speculation. I would suggest an exercise program that emphasises multiple joint movements. Matt Furey's "royal court" is something you can do at home by yourself with no equipment.

These ar not "his" exercises, but he is kind of bringing them back into vogue. One is the "hindu" squat, the "hindu" pushup and the neck bridge. You may discover that your lower back and butt are weak and tight. By getting them moving and getting blood pumping through them you may find relief.

I am not a doctor, and I am not familiar with your condition, so you should really see a physician first. The only trouble is that most doctors do not seem to believe in the healing power of exercise. There was a thread not too long ago on matt furey's conditioning.

good luck

gary

This may be the link to the matt furey thread. If not, it is in the Martial Arts section of GT.
Well, I could not do it. But scroll through the Martial Arts forum, and look for the discussion labled "matt furey".

Gary

Sunwolf Enemy
07-18-2005, 00:56