Internet Explorer 6 problem - Hep me!! [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Internet Explorer 6 problem - Hep me!!


CarloPonti
07-24-2005, 18:16
Some months ago my computer would pop up a message that gave me the option of getting an error message or ending all programs. I have only been able to end all programs. I don't have to reboot the computer. I can click on IE and continue. Problem is, this is happening more and more frequently. Like every few minutes now.

Anybody have a clue what it is and how I can fix it?
thanks,
carloponti

DeadMansLife
07-24-2005, 18:34
Switch to Firefox.

MLM
07-24-2005, 19:05
Originally posted by DeadMansLife
Switch to Firefox. ;Q Real helpful reply.

07-24-2005, 20:23
MLM

I think in the long run switching to Firefox is a good solution. Why make yourself crazy hunting down a IE solution when Firefox will most surely fix do away with the issue.

Andy

I think carlo is refering to the Error reporting tool that IE uses. There are numerous reasons why it pops up, but it is something you can turn off if it bothers you. The first thing to check would be for spyware. You should get spybot -Search and Destroy and say spyware blaster, update and run both programs, fix the issues if any come up. If after you do this your still getting the errors at least you have eliminated Spyware and we can try something else.

try those programs and let us know if it helps.

Hailstorm
07-24-2005, 20:33
1st, if your Explorer is bad. YUou can locate a uninstaller and reinstall it.

2nd, switching to Firefox is like buying a new car because you need a oil change. Its called "get protection" so it doesn't happen anymore. Of course this is only if you have spyware or virii problems.

3rd,you could do a repair of windows if you have XP. If you need instructions on that,email me.

4th, don't click on anything that says you have spyware, click here to download the fix.

5th, if you click on a application or file in a email and it seems to do nothing when you click it. You just screwed the pooch and you probly have a good virus now.

07-24-2005, 20:39
Firefox link is here:

http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/

A link for the Spybot S&D and Spyware blaster:

http://www.download.com/Utilities/2001-2018_4-0.html?tag=nav_dir

Download and scan for spyware, if you still have the issue post again.

Is your IE up to date ? if not update it using windows update also.

Andy

MLM
07-25-2005, 15:16
Originally posted by USCG1988
MLM

I think in the long run switching to Firefox is a good solution.If that's what he wanted to do he would of asked how or done it himself and be done with it. Point being he didn't ask about switching to a new browser or what-have-you. But wanted help with the problem at hand.

It just rubs me the wrong way when folks reply in such manner, that's all. It's kinda like getting a flat tire and asking for help in fixing it only to be told to buy a new vehicle.
Real helpful.

That is all.

Zoolander
07-26-2005, 01:19
TRUE.

I have both IE6 and Firefox.

I prefer IE6.

DeadMansLife
07-26-2005, 14:22
MLM,

I know what he was looking for with his question. I am also know that switching to FF and it's extentions fixed 99% of MY browser problems so it MAY fix his.

Insted of *itching about my reply how about adding some helpful input to this discussion. Any ideas how he could fix this without swicthing to FF?

Washington,D.C.
07-26-2005, 14:27
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads/critical/ie6sp1/default.mspx


http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=1e1550cb-5e5d-48f5-b02b-20b602228de6&DisplayLang=en

MLM
07-26-2005, 17:12
Originally posted by DeadMansLife


I know what he was looking for with his question. I am also know that switching to FF and it's extentions fixed 99% of MY browser problems so it MAY fix his.
Then why didn't you just say that instead of just "Switch to Firefox"?

Washington,D.C.
07-30-2005, 19:22
http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=kb;en-us;318378&spid=2578&sid=global

CarloPonti
07-30-2005, 19:41
Gentlemen,
The problem seems to be fixed. I reloaded IE6 and it cured the problem.

Thanks for all the suggestions.

carloponti

MLM
07-31-2005, 14:26
Originally posted by CarloPonti
Gentlemen,
I reloaded IE6 and it cured the problem.Generally when something goes oops on me and it was not my doing (to the best of my knowledge); automatic upgrade/update (usually one requiring a restart, are you hearing me McAfee!?) or what-have-you, and a simple reboot didn't fix, usually doing a reinstall takes care of it.

Washington,D.C.
08-08-2005, 06:06
http://www.majorgeeks.com/IEFix_d4467.html