Micro atx 350 or 400 watt power supply? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Micro atx 350 or 400 watt power supply?


Gadgetman
07-29-2005, 17:23
Don't ask me how but I ordered a computer and it's on it's way to my house and scheduled to be here next week. Now after more investigation I find out it only has a 300 watt power supply.I need to find a power supply that will fit a Micro atx form factor case that also has a micro atx motherboard that is at least 350 watts.
I got a good deal on this computer and I new when ordering it that I was going to upgrade the video card. I didn't realize that a Nvidia 6800GT needed at least a 350 watt power supply. The card itself needs 200 to 250 watts of power alone, so I'm told.

If I can't find a power supply to fit this case I'll either have to:
1) Send the computer back and be out $100.00 (shipping both ways).

2) Buy a new case and power supply (400 watts) and put all the new computers guts into the new case along with the 6800 GT.

3) Keep the computer with the 300 watt power supply and get the best video card that will be compatible with that wattage (any ideas on a card?).


Thanks

I forgot to mention the case size is 14.25" X 7.25" X 16".



;4 ;4

popnfresh
07-29-2005, 18:05
My case is 14"x14"x7" ID(old emachines case) and I have a 450watt Mad Dog power supply from Comp USA it was around $50 I think.
It leaves about an inch of space between it and my DVD R/RW drive.

David_G17
07-29-2005, 18:33
i would do option 2, because i think you may have heat problems with a small case (but i could be wrong).

also, does anyone know for sure that a standard ATX power supply won't work?

what brand of case / model did you buy?

eta: here's one, but i've never heard of this manufacturer before.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817101515


edited again:

here's another, but it has gotten bad reviews:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817104124

AZ-Boog
07-29-2005, 18:58
Get a PS that delivers good amperage on the 12V line. The one in the link supplies 30A on the 12V lines.

Here is the one I run:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817104150#DetailSpecs

actually I run the 470W version, but they don't make that one anymore.

My 470W version supplies 33A on the 12V lines.

Power hungry video cards need stable 12V with good/great amperage.

Wattage isn't everything when it comes to PC PS's. Get one that that is of high quality. A quality PS is the very lifeblood of a stable system. Don't be one of these guys that goes out and finds a 500W PS for $39. It will be junk and potentially harmfull to your system.

The OCZ PS's are of very high quality. They get GREAT reviews. They have a great warranty. They supply great amperage on the 12V line. They offer dedicated 12V, noise shielded, lines to the video card and the hard drive.

I highly recommend them.

Gadgetman
07-29-2005, 19:23
Originally posted by David_G17
i would do option 2, because i think you may have heat problems with a small case (but i could be wrong).

also, does anyone know for sure that a standard ATX power supply won't work?




I've called the company a half a dozen times since I ordered the computer and I get different answers each time. I guess I'll just have to wait until it arrives to see what size the power supply is. I have heard even though the form factor and motherboard is Micro ATX the power supply could be standard size.

Also I have looked at more video cards and I found one that will run on 300 watts it's a Radeon X800 Pro 256MB 256 Bit GDDR3. It looks like a pretty good card.



Edited: Thanks for the link on the 350 watt power supply. In one of the reviews a guy says he runs a 6800GT with no problems with it.

Bronson7
07-30-2005, 08:51
I built a micro ATX rig using a micro atx tower (Enlight 300 Watt). I decided to upgrade to a larger ps (I think it's a 425W) and installed a standard atx ps with no problem. Fit the same hole perfectly.
Bronson7

funbob
07-30-2005, 10:28
The 6800GT will run just fine on a 300W PSU if you don't have a ton of extra components installed. In a pinch, I ran one on a 250W PSU for a while with no ill effects. Nvidia greatly overstates the power requirements for their cards. You'll get better perormance from a quality PSU rated at a lower wattage than a cheap one rated for more wattage. The key thing to look for, like AZ-Boog said, is amperage on the 12V rail. 18A is the minimum nowadays for a modern system. Wattage is secondary, don't get sucked into the numbers game. You can't go wrong with anything from Antec. OCZ is also excellent.

Medievaltech
07-30-2005, 13:14
Freedom1955 could you give us a link to the actual computer you ordered?Or at least the model number.That would help out a lot.
I have always used ANTEC power supplys and cases and never had a problem with them.

Gadgetman
07-30-2005, 20:51
Originally posted by Medievaltech
Freedom1955 could you give us a link to the actual computer you ordered?Or at least the model number.That would help out a lot.
I have always used ANTEC power supplys and cases and never had a problem with them.


http://www.danasoft.com/sig/MEDIEVALTECH.jpg


Gateway 560 GE. It's a new model and not on there site yet.
P4 64 bit 3.0 ghz.
1 MB 2L Cache
915G Express chipset
800mhz front bus
512 DDR Pc 3200 400mhz dual channel standard plus the extra gig I ordered fom Tiger Direct.
250 GB 7200 SATA HD
8-1 media Manager
High definition audio
Double layer 16x dvd burner
10/100 Ethernet
Integrated Intel graphics media excelerator 900 64mg. (I no not good)
Extra slot for PCI Express video card
300 watt power supply
Mini tower
Lots of diferent open ports
3 extra expansion bays
Windows XP Home (Good enough for me)
Keyboard and mouse

Gadgetman
07-30-2005, 20:55
Originally posted by funbob
The key thing to look for, like AZ-Boog said, is amperage on the 12V rail. 18A is the minimum nowadays for a modern system.

How do I find out this information?

AZ-Boog
07-30-2005, 21:53
The voltage rail specs will be listed on the power supply. Also, when you buy a PS the details regarding amperage for each rail (+3.3V, +5V and +12V) are usually listed.

IndyGunFreak
07-31-2005, 00:27
Originally posted by Bronson7
I built a micro ATX rig using a micro atx tower (Enlight 300 Watt). I decided to upgrade to a larger ps (I think it's a 425W) and installed a standard atx ps with no problem. Fit the same hole perfectly.
Bronson7

Been a while since I messed with a Micro ATX case, but I also was thinking they used the same PS.

IGF

Gadgetman
08-01-2005, 21:29
I found out the power supply that comes with my computer has 18v on the 12v rail.

I also ordered a LeadTek 6800GT 256 Pci express from Newegg. Is that a pretty good card? Will I have any bottle necks with the card and the system I have described?

Thanks,

Freedom1955

AZ-Boog
08-02-2005, 00:01
18V? I think you meant 18A and no that won't be sufficent. You need more amperage on the +12V rail.

Read the links I provided in this thread:http://www.glocktalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=413566

The 6800GT is a great video card. You need a great PS to support it. Make sure your motherboard has a PCI Express slot and not an AGP slot.

357S
08-02-2005, 02:15
Ati Radion X800 XL works fine on a 350 wt supply. I have one. Plays all the games just fine. $259 shipped.

AZ-Boog
08-02-2005, 09:18
maybe and maybe not.

It all depends what amperage the +12V rail supplies.

You can't make a blanket statement that a 350W PS will support a high end video card without first ascertaining what amperage the 12V rail supplies.

Gadgetman
08-03-2005, 19:55
Originally posted by AZ-Boog
18V? I think you meant 18A and no that won't be sufficent. You need more amperage on the +12V rail.

Read the links I provided in this thread:http://www.glocktalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=413566

The 6800GT is a great video card. You need a great PS to support it. Make sure your motherboard has a PCI Express slot and not an AGP slot.

Ya I meant 18amp.
It has a PCI Express slot.

I'm going to try using the stock power supply, if I have problems with the video card performing I'll get a better PS.

Gadgetman
08-15-2005, 10:53
Well my new puter seemed to run good and my video card performed well with the stock 300 watt PS but just to be on the safe side I purchased and installed a Thermaltake W0057 Purepower ATX 500 watt modular PS.
I got lucky cause even though my case is pretty small it still took a standard size ATX PS.