WOW! I got weak in a year! [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : WOW! I got weak in a year!

chrisman17
07-31-2005, 20:06
I can't believe how quickly I lost my strength in lifting. Last May I stopped working out after lifting for about 4 years... You know how it goes, I graduated from College, got a real job, got lazy behind the desk, and gained about 15 lbs. I started back up at the gym this month and I couldn't believe how weak I got over the course of a year. I went from a 1 rep max on bench press of 325lbs to completetly struggling with 185lbs. It was a very depressing and humbling moment at the gym. Has anyone else expierenced this? How long did it take you to get back up to speed? I'm finding it hard to get motivated now.

garythenuke
07-31-2005, 20:31
Chrisman,
Welcome to the real world;f . I know exactly what you are going through and how hard it is. You were quite strong not too long ago, and you really have not been off that long. If you give yourself six weeks, I think you will see tremendous gains in that time. I won't have to tell you about recovery, diet, hydration, reps, sets and stuff because you probably already know that.

What I will tell you is not to dive into the deepend until you have your arm floaties off. Take it easy, and don't let your ego take hold. Your brain remembers lifting 325, but your body will think you're talking Latin if you command it to lift like that.

Go slow, build your weights regularly, and avoid injury. You may end up stronger than when you left off a year ago. Good luck and keep us posted.

chrisman17
07-31-2005, 20:42
Originally posted by garythenuke
Chrisman,