Router problem [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Router problem


Gadgetman
08-11-2005, 05:56
I don't know jack about routers. In fact I'm ready to toss this one into the river. It's a D-Link DI-604 (hardwired).

I bought a new computer and I wanted to have both my new one and the old one connected to the internet so this seemed like a good way to do that. Anyway I always run Zonealarm on my computer and occasionally go to a site called Shieldsup where they check the venerability of your computer to hackers. The results of these tests always was that my computer was running in stealth mode now that I have this router connected the results (failed)indicate that my computer is responding to TCP packets on port 113 Ident. The computer response is that the port exist but is currently closed to connections.
What can I do to get my computer to not respond to these packets on port 113 Ident thus returning to stealth mode?

Thanks.

Washington,D.C.
08-11-2005, 08:20
http://support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=1068





Another firewall test here

http://scan.sygate.com:443/cgi-bin/probe/stealthscan.cgi

Gadgetman
08-11-2005, 09:13
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
http://support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=1068





Another firewall test here

http://scan.sygate.com:443/cgi-bin/probe/stealthscan.cgi


Thanks DC I'm Stealthalized again!!

I do have another question though. If I have this router connected do I still need a software firewall like Zonealarm.

Washington,D.C.
08-11-2005, 09:28
Some routers do have firewalls but I would keep Zone Alarm running in the PC.Zone Alarm is a good one.I have a router without a built in firewall but it blocks a lot of pop ups by blocking certain ports but it's not secure enough by itself.