I can browse GT faster than ever! [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : I can browse GT faster than ever!


0100010
08-15-2005, 18:14
Finally got my Verizon Fios 15/2 internet connection running. Now I just need to find some bandwidth intense places really make use of 15 megs a second.

gsarg
08-15-2005, 19:01
(Jealous) They don't offer it here. Best I can get is Cox. Supposedly, they are rolling out faster speeds to compete with FIOS. But since FIOS isn't available here yet, there's no telling when the 9 mb cable will be available. Do you mind me asking, how much? I believe it's been rolling out for $49.99 everywhere else.

Nyper
08-15-2005, 20:03
I can get 8m through cable.. but only pay for 5. Never had any use for more.... yet. ;f

On the other hand, most other places can't put out that much. I'd be willing to bet you will rarely use even a quarter of what you have in the near future...

Still jealous though.. ;a

funbob
08-15-2005, 22:28
Okay, I'm jealous. And at $50 a month, I'm really jealous. That's less than I pay for a 6mbps cable connection (soon to go to 8) with a lousy 768kbps upstream. I seriously doubt anything like FIOS will show up here soon. Not with a lousy company like Qwest running things. I can't wait until they go under.

ATI_RAGE_
08-15-2005, 22:37
Wow that is pretty good, time for online gaming you'll pwn !!1ONE111!

Zoolander
08-16-2005, 00:52
I roll at 24Kbps, so don't playa hate.

grantglock
08-16-2005, 14:24
1 megabit DSL service here is $100 per month. 512K is $40

357S
08-16-2005, 15:31
850K Cable $50. Adelphia ;Q.

0100010
08-16-2005, 19:30
If I was a verizon customer, 15/2 would be $49.99 by itself, or $45.99 with phone service. Since I'm an employee, I get 15/2 for $39.99, could be $34.99 but I don't pay for a home landline.

JosieWales
08-16-2005, 20:18
Originally posted by 0100010
If I was a verizon customer, 15/2 would be $49.99 by itself, or $45.99 with phone service. Since I'm an employee, I get 15/2 for $39.99, could be $34.99 but I don't pay for a home landline.

What is the real world difference btween 15/2 and 5/2 ?

I'd like to know.
FIOS is available in my area but i still use cable--5down/768 up

does the 2mb up make a big diff? and when ie. gaming, etc.

funbob
08-16-2005, 20:56
Originally posted by JosieWales
What is the real world difference btween 15/2 and 5/2 ?

I'd like to know.
FIOS is available in my area but i still use cable--5down/768 up

does the 2mb up make a big diff? and when ie. gaming, etc.

If you're just tooling around on the web, there is almost no difference between a 15mb and a 5mb downstream connection. If you're a heavy downloader, the difference would absolutely be noticable. For online gaming, upstream spead is what is important and 768kb up is more than sufficient for online games for the time being. That said, I'd certainly go for the faster connection if the pricing is similar. FIOS is also not a shared connection like cable so you have that 15/2 all to yourself. It's not going to bog down like cable does when there's a lot of subscribers in the neighborhood and everyone decides to log on all at once every evening.

stooxie
08-18-2005, 20:53
Originally posted by grantglock
1 megabit DSL service here is $100 per month. 512K is $40

Yeah, no kidding. Since when did 5 or 6mbit cable modems become slow???? Crikey, have we all forgotton that not 5 years ago we were happy to get a 1.54mb cable modem, and before that you could pay $1200/month for a 128K burstable T1?

I have a Cox cable modem at 5mbit and I think it's rediculously awesome. They keep increasing the speed ever year. My cup runneth over!

-Stooxie

Washington,D.C.
08-18-2005, 21:40
I've got 3Mbit DSL.The 5Mbit FIOS would cost about $5 a month more but they said I could never switch my phone service back to copper wire if I went with FIOS.For now I'll wait and see.The DSL is plenty fast enough for my purposes.

0100010
08-19-2005, 22:34
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
I've got 3Mbit DSL.The 5Mbit FIOS would cost about $5 a month more but they said I could never switch my phone service back to copper wire if I went with FIOS.For now I'll wait and see.The DSL is plenty fast enough for my purposes.

Yes, very true, once Verizon foots the bill to convert a location to fiber, it almost takes an act of congress to switch back to copper. I don't have landline phone service though, so it wasn't a concern of mine.

NGWT
08-19-2005, 23:31
Originally posted by 0100010
Yes, very true, once Verizon foots the bill to convert a location to fiber, it almost takes an act of congress to switch back to copper. I don't have landline phone service though, so it wasn't a concern of mine.

Me neither. Straight cell for two years now. Haven't missed Ma Bell at all.