hardware or software issue? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : hardware or software issue?


Cochese
08-21-2005, 05:13
computer issues AGAIN

Was putting along on my Dell Latitude CPxJ 650GT PIII XP pro SP2 machine the other day when it blue screened/memory stop dumped (for the first time ever since I rebuilt it 1 year ago)

Here is the message:
http://tinypic.com/av1xc0.jpg










Since then, it no longer gives any error messages and hasn't blue screened, either that or it displays the message really fast then restarts because I can't see it.


The problem now, is it will work for say, 25 minutes, then lock up with no mouse movement/etc requiring a hard reboot.

Then, it will either reboot normally and repeat the locking up process a few minutes down the line, or I will hit the power button after the hard power down when it locked up initially, and when I try to power it up, the power light, the HDD activity light, and the scroll lock indicator and CAPS indicator will illuminate for a period of 3-5 seconds and the computer will refuse to start at all, shutting itself back down.

It does this at random, and is pissing me straight off.

I tried system restore, and it refuses to do it at any point. I also ran crap cleaner and checked for any weird registry entrees with no luck. I installed an activex controller for a GIS mapping city .gov website that required it. The problem started an hour or two after that. Not sure if it was related so I uninstalled the activex controller (at least I think I did --in add/remove progs)

Anyone help?

Bueller?

....Bueller?

:)
Glocktastic

Washington,D.C.
08-21-2005, 06:47
You may need to open the case of the notebook and clean out the dust.Also make sure the fan is running.

Washington,D.C.
08-21-2005, 07:02
http://forums.us.dell.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=latit_general&message.id=31955&query.id=70192#M31955

Cochese
08-21-2005, 15:28
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
You may need to open the case of the notebook and clean out the dust.Also make sure the fan is running.

I hit it with some compressed air from outside the case. After watching it for a few minutes, the fan did not come on. Would that cause it to overheat and then cause the stop error? Hopefully if I replace the MB, it will come with a new fan, etc...

CRAP! Can't afford this at the moment! #$%^#%^

Washington,D.C.
08-21-2005, 15:50
The fan doesn't run right away.Only after it heats up.

Washington,D.C.
08-21-2005, 16:02
You can try this,it works for some people with that model.These are instructions from Dell,

REmove the hard drive, boot, get the no boot device error and reboot

ON AC POWER

remove the floppy, boot, get the error, reboot

remove the battery, boot, get the error

enter the bios

sit in the bios for 30 seconds (why i do not know)

Exit the bios

reinsert the devices one at a time in the order you removed them (hd first)

Cochese
08-21-2005, 21:41
Are you going to pop out of the bushes and point and laugh at me if I actually try this?

;a


Where did you find these instructions? Can you post a link for me. I don't fully understand them...

Thanks!

Glocktastic

Washington,D.C.
08-22-2005, 04:07
I copied it directly from Dell tech support.Seems like most people fix your problem with a motherboard replacement but removing the devices like this will solve the problem more than 50% of the time.I'll try to find the link again.

Washington,D.C.
08-22-2005, 04:15
Remove the devices one at a time and start the PC after each one is removed.It says use AC power because you will be removing the battery.(Unplug the AC power when you are removing the drives.)Then boot to the bios,wait half a minute then exit the bios with no changes.The the bios should rediscover the drives when you reinstall them.

Washington,D.C.
08-22-2005, 04:43
http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/pcpxhj/en/index.htm




http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/pcpxhj/en/ug_a02/index.htm





http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/pcpxhj/en/ug_a02/r_r.htm




http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/pcpxhj/en/ug_a02/diag.htm

Washington,D.C.
08-22-2005, 04:44
http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/devices.aspx?c=us&cs=04&l=en&s=bsd&SystemID=LAT_PNT_P03_CPX_J&os=WW1&osl=EN

DeadMansLife
08-22-2005, 16:07
Originally posted by glocktastic
Are you going to pop out of the bushes and point and laugh at me if I actually try this?

I thought the same thing until I saw DC posted it.;f ;f ;f

Clyde
08-22-2005, 18:21
Link to a Nice Fan GUI (LINK) (http://www.diefer.de/i8kfan/)

Please Note Disclaimer

Worked for me

Cochese
08-24-2005, 18:14
Update...


That fangui is sweet! The freezing issue has reduced but is still occuring. I have recieved two new stop errors:

1. STOP: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

0x0000000A (0x7EF000AF, 0X00000002, 0X00000001, 0X804DC110)

2. WIN32K.SYS - ADDRESS BF81090F base at BF800000, DATE STAMP 422511A2

0x0000008E (0XC0000005, 0xBF81090F, 0xF66B1BC4, 0X00000000)

Help!!!!!

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 18:49
The first one can be software or hardware.Can be a conflict.Some anti virus programs cause this.

The second is related to memory access and is normally caused by a driver issue.

# A Stop 0xA message might occur after installing a faulty device driver, system service, or firmware. If a Stop message lists a driver by name, disable, remove, or roll back the driver to correct the problem. If disabling or removing drivers resolves the issues, contact the manufacturer about a possible update. Using updated software is especially important for multimedia applications, antivirus scanners, and CD mastering tools.
# A Stop 0xA message might also be due to failing or defective hardware. If a Stop message points to a category of devices (video or disk adapters, for example), try removing or replacing the hardware to determine if it is causing the problem.
# If you encounter a Stop 0xA message while upgrading to Windows XP Professional, the problem might be due to an incompatible driver, system service, virus scanner, or backup. To avoid problems while upgrading, simplify your hardware configuration and remove all third-party device drivers and system services (including virus scanners) prior to running setup. After you have successfully installed Windows XP Professional, contact the hardware manufacturer to obtain compatible updates. For more information about simplifying your system for troubleshooting purposes


It may because you laptop didn't come with XP originally.If it just started it might be from an update or failing hardware.

Firmware in CD drive,Audio or video drivers.

You may need to flash to a later bios version.

A failing motherboard seems to be at fault mostly in that model but it might not be that.You can still try a few things.

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 19:45
Almost everything points to a memory problem but that could also be the motherboard.Maybe check that the RAM is fully seated.

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 19:49
If the fangui helps then it may be heat related.You should clean it out and see how it works.

Cochese
08-24-2005, 19:53
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
Almost everything points to a memory problem but that could also be the motherboard.Maybe check that the RAM is fully seated.

DC, I appreciate the help so far. I reseated the RAM today after attacking the computer with compressed air. Right after I attempted your process above, utilizing the BIOS, resetting and removing the HD/CD drive/battery... I hope I don't have to buy another MB. Arrrg!

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 20:08
All of the available bios for that laptop only say "certified for Win 98,NT,2000 and ME".Doesn't mention Windows XP but the last few are dated after the release of Windows XP.

http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/download.aspx?c=us&cs=04&l=en&s=bsd&releaseid=R57531&SystemID=LAT_PNT_P03_CPX_J&os=WW1&osl=en&deviceid=557&devlib=0&typecnt=1&vercnt=10&formatcnt=4&fileid=68975

Cochese
08-24-2005, 20:17
Yep... I tried that and it said I had the newest BIOS available and told me it would not be installed.:(

Should I test the memory somehow?

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 20:26
There are some memory stress tests.

http://majorgeeks.com/MemTest_d350.html

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 20:27
From Microsoft


http://majorgeeks.com/Microsoft_Windows_Memory_Diagnostic_d3955.html

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 20:28
http://majorgeeks.com/RightMark_RAMTester_Utility_d4684.html

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 20:46
I seem to remember from another post that you have quite a bit of RAM in that laptop.The specs claim it supports up to 512Kb of RAM.Some of the larger memory modules must be of the highest quality or they can cause problems.Some Dells are more sensitive to this than some other PC's.One fix is to reduce the amount of RAM.Maybe get down to 256Kb and modules no larger than 128Kb.I forgot if you have 512Kb or 1Gb.

Cochese
08-24-2005, 20:49
I've got 512mb of RAM in it currently and thats how its been since I rebuilt it, with no issues until now. So you think I should pull one and see if the errors go away? Or try one of the memtests with one stick instead of the 2x256mb? It's worked for over a year with no known issues.

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 20:53
Try a mem test first.It's just that some Dells are bit touchy with cheap RAM and maxing out older PC's to the limit you find the limit is really lower.The 256Kn modules are the most touchy.The 128's can usually be any make or brand.

Cochese
08-24-2005, 20:55
It fluctuates from 57 to 60 celcius. Too hot?

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 20:56
Oh yeah,just to let you know.Most memtests can take a LONG TIME.

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 20:57
Yes sounds very hot.

Cochese
08-24-2005, 20:57
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
Try a mem test first.It's just that some Dells are bit touchy with cheap RAM and maxing out older PC's to the limit you find the limit is really lower.The 256Kn modules are the most touchy.The 128's can usually be any make or brand.

I'm running "MemTest" (http://majorgeeks.com/MemTest_d350.html) right now and it's at 65.6% coverage with 0 errors

Cochese
08-24-2005, 21:00
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
Yes sounds very hot.
I'm on Glocktalk with my finacee's Laptop at the moment, which is why I can try all of this stuff and talk to you at the same time. :)

Arrrg#%$%...
I just remembered when I worked on it last to solve the 8IK, issue with the keyboard, I put a lining of wax paper in between the keyboard and the MB housing. Could this now be an issue after 3 months??!!

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:02
If you have broadband and a PC you download 700Mb and burn an image CD,this Linux CD has a memtest option when it boots and is also one of the best Linux you can get.It requires quite a bit of RAM.It works with 256Kb,but it failed to run when I tried only 128Kb.So if you use it,use as much RAM as you can.


ftp://ftp.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo/experimental/x86/livecd/x86/livecd-x86-2005.1.iso

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:03
I'm not sure about the waxpaper.I try to keep foreign objecs out of my PC's.

:)

Cochese
08-24-2005, 21:04
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
If you have broadband and a PC you download 700Mb and burn an image CD,this Linux CD has a memtest option when it boots and is also one of the best Linux you can get.It requires quite a bit of RAM.It works with 256Kb,but it failed to run when I tried only 128Kb.So if you use it,use as much RAM as you can.


ftp://ftp.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo/experimental/x86/livecd/x86/livecd-x86-2005.1.iso

I'll see if I can get her Toshiba to burn a CD. The current memtest is at 111.7% coverage with zero errors. I wonder HTF that works... :/

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:08
It may be testing virtual memory too.

Cochese
08-24-2005, 21:09
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
I'm not sure about the waxpaper.I try to keep foreign objecs out of my PC's.

:)

;z

Lol...

Shoot, temps up to 64.c at the moment! CPU load is 100%. I have the fan set to level 2 (turbo) with the GUI fan program.

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:09
That Linux is a live CD.It doesn't require installing to the hard drive but it does include an installer and runs faster from hard drive.It's fairly fast and a very up to date version.

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:11
Oh the memtest will increase temp as it pushes everything to the limit.

Cochese
08-24-2005, 21:30
I have a hankering to run the recovery console off the XP cd after I finish the memtest. I've never done it before. Do you have any experience with it? Do you think it's worth the trouble to try and re-install XP pro? I have the laptop setup JUST the way I want it at the moment. I'd hate to have to set it up all over again...

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:38
I try to avoid the recovery console.What I do is choose an "Install " on the first screen then on the next I choose "R" for a recovery install.I haven't lost data. I only had to reload one or two programs but all the data is always there.

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:40
The Recovery Install will lose your updates.which may be causing your problems.

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:43
Uninstalling Windows XP SP 2 using Recovery Console:


http://win-xp-sp.blogspot.com/2004_08_01_win-xp-sp_archive.html

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:44
How to Repair Install


http://www.webtree.ca/windowsxp/repair_xp.htm#How%20to%20Repair%20Windows%20XP%20by%20Installing%20Over%20top%20of%20Existing%20Setu p:

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:47
How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install

My favorite


http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm

Washington,D.C.
08-24-2005, 21:49
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/repair.txt

Cochese
08-25-2005, 21:47
Well, oddly enough, I haven't had a BSOD, stop error or lock up since I ran the memory tester. I also hit the fan with a small amount of lubricant. The computer is running at 46-49.c

Is this a normal operating temp?

Washington,D.C.
08-25-2005, 23:12
I've been in 49C weather in South Africa before.That shouldn't be too bad.

Cochese
08-26-2005, 20:20
Another Bluescreen...

This error message followed on reboot:

http://tinypic.com/b7cnbc.jpg

Washington,D.C.
08-26-2005, 21:11
You might try the XP drivers here

http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/devices.aspx?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs&SystemID=LAT_PNT_P03_CPX_J&os=WW1&osl=EN

audio,network and video

Washington,D.C.
08-26-2005, 21:16
You may be able to find some good here,there's not one for XP

http://support.jp.dell.com/docs/systems/pcpxhj/en/ug_a02/win2000.htm

Washington,D.C.
08-26-2005, 21:18
Service manual here

http://support.jp.dell.com/docs/systems/pcpxhj/sm/64ptn_en.pdf

Washington,D.C.
08-26-2005, 22:11
http://www.smartcomputing.com/editorial/article.asp?article=articles/archive/r0803/08r03/08r03.asp

Cochese
09-02-2005, 17:54
I have a 256mb stick inserted in the a slot under the laptop and this is what windows say the memory is...

think it's bad memory? I'm gonna try putting the same stick in the B slot to see what it does. Then I'm gonna do the same thing with the other 256 stick...

http://www.tinypic.com/bj96c0.jpg

Washington,D.C.
09-02-2005, 18:45
Some of the older PC's and especially Dells are very sensitive to memory.Sticks of certain brands and/or larger than 128MB can cause problems.It may not even be "bad" memory,just doesn't work well in that notebook.

Washington,D.C.
09-02-2005, 18:59
I see the specs on that PC say it can use either CL-2 or CL-3 memory modules.Not sure about mixing them or which work best in it.

Washington,D.C.
09-02-2005, 19:03
Air temp specs(not cpu temp)
Operating temp= 32F to 95F
Storage temp= -40F to 149F