http error 400 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : http error 400


mdj1
11-24-2005, 17:35
For one sight I keep getting the "HTTP 400 ERROR BAD REQUEST". I have tried it from a different pc and it came up fine. the page is for a local newspaper. the only thing i've done to my system is download the recomanded windows updates and change the anti virus from norton to Computer Associates ez anti virus. all the other web sites work just the local paper won't. look it it and it appears to be a registry key problem can any one help me with this?

Dandapani
11-24-2005, 17:41
post the URL here.

Washington,D.C.
11-24-2005, 18:29
What firewall are you using?It could also be an internet preference/setting.

mdj1
11-24-2005, 19:33
the web page is www.observer-reporter.com I was at my dads today and it worked from his pc - same isp. I'm running norton firewall.

Washington,D.C.
11-24-2005, 19:41
Norton firewall seems to block too many things or can't be configured to allow what you want.Try switching off the Norton firewall.

Blitzer
11-24-2005, 19:48
I don't recommend shutting off the firewall especially if your on broadband! There are too many goblins scanning for you to drop your shields! ;P ;g


I got to your URL in question with any issues.

No flame just I.M.O.:

I don't use Norton firewall, too flimsy and difficult to configure. Try to add the URL to your exceptions list (allowed list) if I remember correctly.



Safe surfing to you.


I now use ZoneAlarmPro. ;)

mdj1
11-25-2005, 21:53
ended up being a problem with my firewall. reconfigured my hardware firewall and switched to the windows firewall and all is fine.....at least for now.