Securing your home wireless network [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Securing your home wireless network

Cyoung
11-30-2005, 13:37
I am a network administrator on a medium-sized government network somewhere in the South. I have had a lot of folks ask me for advice on securing home/business wireless access points (APs). Here is a quick and easy summary of what to do:

1. Turn on WPA-PSK (pre-shared key or 'personal' mode)security on your wireless access point.

2. Assign one or more keys to the WPA key list; make them all 20 characters or more; include numbers and other odd characters.

3. Turn off the option to broadcast your SSID.

4. Turn on and set up MAC address filtering.

While not making your AP 100% secure, this will make finding it and accessing it hard enough that the malicious user will likely go find another easier target.

Discussion:

WEP sucks. It is not secure. It never was. It was a temporary solution that was never really secure. Go to WPA right now!!! Better yet, go to WPA2 when it becomes more available.

For your keys, do not use common phrase, dictionary words, or other easy to guess combos. Do not use the MAC address of the AP, as it is broadcast in the clear, even on encrypted networks. I like to use long combinations like airplane names and numbers (i.e., B2Ste@lthB0mberR0xorsTh3W0rld). Short WPA keys or dictionary keys can be cracked given enough time.

SSID broadcasting. By default, most APs happily broadcast the world their presence and the name of the Service Set Identifier (SSID). Having this on makes the AP easier to find and connect to. If this is ok for you, great, but turning this off makes it harder for uninvited users to see you, but not impossible.