PDA or Smartphone? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : PDA or Smartphone?

Burrito
12-20-2005, 17:24
Which one should i get for my wife? Should I get a phone with all the capabilities of your basic HP ipac, or should I stick to keeping them seperate? I'm new to these specific gadgets and a little lost and confused.

hwyhobo
12-20-2005, 18:16
PDA is usually a bit handier to use, but it is also bigger, and it is yet another thing to carry. Does she also use a laptop for more heavy-duty stuff? If so, I would skip a PDA. I have one, and I stopped carrying it some time ago. Too much to carry already.

However, if you are going to get one of the smart phones, get one with a large screen.

funbob
12-20-2005, 23:37
The big reason I've kept my phone and PDA seperate so far is I'll frequently need to pull information off my PDA or jot down notes while on a call and it helps to keep the devices seperate. I'm not a big fan of earpieces and prefer not to use the speakerphone so this is what works for me. I also can't afford to have the battery go dead and lose my phone AND PDA.

I have been looking at some smartphones lately though and may be tempted to get one if I ever find a bluetooth earpiece that's comfortable for me to use.

Burrito
12-22-2005, 22:36
Do you think PDAs will be phased out with all of the new combo phone/PDAs? It just seems the PDAs aren't being pushed at the electronic stores as much. It's all about phones and mp3 players.

jpa
12-22-2005, 23:06
I think it'll all be integrated and used as one at some point. If you have a smartphone with bluetooth and a headset, I don't know if you're able to use any of the pda functionality while in a call (as funbob mentions), plus the fact that windows for the pocketpc on a smartphone doesn't include the office apps.