Making a bootable CD. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Making a bootable CD.


IndyGunFreak
12-24-2005, 07:31
I'm downloading Knoppix to give it a try right now.. Washington DC has recommended it enough for me.. :)

I'm downloading the .iso file, but it says not to use the Windows Software to make the CD, because it doesn't know how to make a bootable CD.

So I open up Nero, and it doesn't have an option to make the CD Bootable.

Do I just need to use Nero to burn the .iso to disk, then reboot the PC, set bios to read the CD, and load up?... Seems thats all I should have to do, just want to make sure.

Thanks
IGF

IndyGunFreak
12-24-2005, 07:45
Nevermind, I must have been going through Nero's options with my eyes closed. ;)

IGF

Washington,D.C.
12-24-2005, 09:31
Hey which version did you download?Knoppix 4.0.2 is the latest version.There is a German version and an English version.There is a DVD version and a CD version.How much memory does your PC have?There are some neat tricks you can do.If it's the CD version and you have one Gig or more of RAM,when the CD boots,type "knoppix toram" without the quotes and press Enter.it will run very fast.If you got the German version it still supports English,you just have to type the language code for English when it boots.

Washington,D.C.
12-24-2005, 10:00
Oh yeah,another thing is CD-RW CD's normally don't work as bootable CD's.You almost always need to used a CD-R CD.

Washington,D.C.
12-25-2005, 21:26
So how did that Knoppix CD work out?

IndyGunFreak
12-26-2005, 05:01
I can't get it to boot. I burned the iso to a CD. I then set Nero to burn a bootable CD. In order to do this, it needed me to make a boot floppy, so I did. After creating the boot disk, I burned it all to the CD, and it still won't boot. Didn't have much time to mess with it yesterday, I'll work on it more tonight.

IGF

Washington,D.C.
12-26-2005, 06:10
I haven't used Nero in a long time.It may reconize the type of CD automatically.If not,it's CD "image" or "iso" or "raw CD".It may not say "bootable" anywhere when you make the CD.

Washington,D.C.
12-26-2005, 06:42
Here are some instructions for Nero.

http://www.wizardskeep.org/mainhall/tutor/neroiso.html

http://www.weethet.nl/english/cdrw_usingnero_iso.php


http://homepage.ntlworld.com/hiren.thanki/how_to_burn_iso.html


http://www.petri.co.il/how_to_write_iso_files_to_cd.htm


http://www.dos2xp.com/how_to_burn_iso.html


These are the instructions I used to use.

http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Downloading_FAQ#Q:_How_do_I_burn_an_ISO_to_a_CD_using_NERO.3F

IndyGunFreak
12-26-2005, 17:44
That wasn't so bad..,

Runs awful well just to be running off the CD.

Something strange I've noticed my ATI TV card, for some reason, the sound is playing, but I've found no setting where I can watch TV via Knoppix...

Oh well, something to figure out..

Not bad though, for a free OS. I'm gonna mess around with it some more.

IGF

Washington,D.C.
12-26-2005, 17:46
There are some versions that support ATI TV cards.Which version of Knoppix are you using?

Washington,D.C.
12-26-2005, 18:20
Here is the special Knoppix for TV.It has MythTV which is like free Linux TiVo.Download the iso here

http://depot.fsck.ch/mirror/knoppmyth/KnoppMythR5A26.iso

Might take a bit of time.

Washington,D.C.
12-26-2005, 19:21
Okay I don't use my PC for TV but there is one project for using ATI TV cards in Linux.It's called GATOS but it's not very well supported.Not sure many have much luck with it.The most common TV card to use in Linux is Hauppauge.They almost aways supported in current Linux.

Washington,D.C.
12-26-2005, 22:07
Okay that CD was just for Myth TV nothing else.For TV card in Linux the newest Mepis looks to have the most TV card support.It can run live like Knoppix.It may not always be as fast but the latest version isn't bad.I only found one bug in it that may sometimes crash the browser when on certain websites.They are still working on it.

IndyGunFreak
12-27-2005, 06:03
Another question.

I have one program that I enjoy using, that is not available for Linux(Pokerstars.net). Is there a way to run a Windows program via Linux?

I actually like this, Might consider buying an Install version and putting it on this PC.

Thanks
IGF

Washington,D.C.
12-27-2005, 07:25
Yes there is a way to use some Windows programs.The Linux program to run Windows programs is called "Wine".Also to run Windows in Linux there is VMware and Win4Lin.There is a graphical interface for Wine called Xwine.

Wine will be the easiest and cheapest(free).Not all Windows programs will work with Wine but a surprizing number of them do.

http://www.winehq.com/

http://www.codeweavers.com/


http://www.win4lin.com/

http://www.vmware.com/

http://freshmeat.net/projects/xwine/

Washington,D.C.
12-27-2005, 07:30
Which version of Knoppix do you have now?There is a hard disk installer on the CD.The 3D drivers are now very difficult for most versions of Knoppix.Some programs can be added to Knoppix hard drive install but doesn't always work.There are better choices for hard drive installs but if you need to make many changes standard Knoppix will work fine.