HF antenna help [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : HF antenna help

lomfs24
12-24-2005, 12:39
I just bought an estate sale....everything... for a good price. One of the things that I got was a Kenwood TS-850S. I am a tech so I won't be able to get on the air with it for a while. One of the other things that I got was an antenna. I haven't actually torn the antenna down from where it is located yet. But it's a beam antenna with about 7 elements and it's supposed to cover several bands. I don't know if I want to put it up at my house. In the sale I also got a tower. It's about a 30 or 40' tower and I am thinking I don't really want that thing in my back yard.

What are my other options. Is that antenna too big to put on my roof on a roof type tripod kind of thing? How high would it have to be above the roof of my house? My house being a single story modular home.

I am also open to some other antenna options. Remember, at this point in the game I am only interested in listening because I am not able to actually transmit. I would be interested in knowing what I could do to maybe not even have an antenna outside at this point but rather some kind of wire strung inside? Maybe even interested in wire type antenna's that would go outside.

I am conpletely open to suggestions.

R. Emmelman
12-24-2005, 14:54
The problem with mounting a multi-band antenna on the roof is the wind-loading. Antennas have a wind-loading number that represents the amount of surface the antenna represents to the wind. An antenna that has 15 sq/ft would be equivelent to having a 15 sq/ft board aganst the wind. Most roofs can not handle the stress. Hope this helps.

Rich WI9NDY / AFA1CY

king catfish
12-24-2005, 22:20
Maybe you should just "expand your horizons". Maybe learn to weld or something. That's what I learned from TheBigCA and VOB. They were very helpful.

lomfs24
12-25-2005, 02:16
;z ;z ;z