Video card help. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Video card help.


El Dave
12-28-2005, 20:05
My brother got Call of Duty II, and Brothers in Arms, earned in blood for his PC for Christmas. Unfortunately he doesn't have enough RAM or the proper video card to run them.

He went out and bought some RAM today and got it in, but the video card is too long to fit in the slot. So apparantly they come in different sizes. Obviously I know nothing about them.

What should he look for when shopping for one, and how are they sized? This is his setup if it helps.

Gateway Desktop
Mod: 500 SE
640 RAM
Windows XP
Pent 4

We would appreciate any help, as he's eager to kill some nazi bastards.

;c ;c

Washington,D.C.
12-28-2005, 20:34
Looks like it only has a PCI slot.Not AGP not PCI-X not PCI-E.Plain old PCI.

http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/2800071/2800071nv.shtml

http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/2800071/2800071nv.shtml

PCI/ISA/AGP Slots/Connectors

* 2 -12V fan header for processors fan sinks
* No AGP/ISA Connectors
* Two PCI connectors

Washington,D.C.
12-28-2005, 20:35
Says the original motherboard was AMD K6-2(500 to 550MHZ)

Not Pentium 4.

Washington,D.C.
12-28-2005, 20:38
This one is a Pentium 4

http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/R/3724/3724nv.shtml

Need more info.

El Dave
12-28-2005, 20:40
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
Says the original motherboard was AMD K6-2(500 to 550MHZ)

Not Pentium 4.

What does this portend? And I'm not very slot saavy.


Thanks.

HAVOC
12-28-2005, 20:47
Short version: You're screwed.

Sell listings I've seen on the net show a 1.6-2.0GHz Pentium 4. Somewhat lacking for games.

Integrated video as you've found. bites.

Worst of all, looks like only PCI slots available. Pretty deismal selection of cards for PCI, and the ones that are out there are pretty weak. Better than integrated, but a bike is better than walking, too...

Gateway's online support is poor, at best. Hence the confusion finding a proper set of specs.

Quick and dirty, look inside the box and see if it has 4 exactly the same size and position slots for cards, probably white. If there's longer or differently positioned slots there may be hope.

El Dave
12-28-2005, 20:50
Thanks. I should have done more research before making the purchase.

El Dave
12-28-2005, 20:53
I'll have him check. Thanks again.

El Dave
12-28-2005, 21:03
Would the fact that he put a sound card in (turtle beach santa Cruz) in be cause for hope? Again, I'm not wise in the ways of slots. ;c

Edited for spelling.

HAVOC
12-28-2005, 21:32
Not really.

But that's a standard PCI slot, so if that's the only kind of slot in there, you're kinda stuck.

There are PCI (~NOT~ PCI Express) out there, and they will improve game capability, whether it's good enough for COD II....

COD II wants a 64MB video card, so you might be able to fake it out. You can get 128MB and 256MB PCI cards these days. Best in the bunch are probably cards based on an Nvidia FX5500 or FX5700LE, or an ATi Radeon 9250.

That sort of upgrade will probably let you play, but certainly not with all the eye candy on.

El Dave
12-28-2005, 21:44
Originally posted by HAVOC
Not really.

But that's a standard PCI slot, so if that's the only kind of slot in there, you're kinda stuck.

There are PCI (~NOT~ PCI Express) out there, and they will improve game capability, whether it's good enough for COD II....

COD II wants a 64MB video card, so you might be able to fake it out. You can get 128MB and 256MB PCI cards these days. Best in the bunch are probably cards based on an Nvidia FX5500 or FX5700LE, or an ATi Radeon 9250.

That sort of upgrade will probably let you play, but certainly not with all the eye candy on.

Yeah. Thanks man. I just spoke with him and from his description it seems that's what he has. He's gonna see what he can dig up to run it, even if he's not getting the full potential.

I had fun playing the first COD even thought there were frame rate stutters with my system.

El Dave
12-28-2005, 21:49
link (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=10603)


This is the link from the ubisoft FAQ site. Is it safe to say that he won't likely be able to run this with just the slots he has?

It says it will only run with the supported cards.


Edited to add: Next year he's getting a good skinning knife or fishing reel or somesuch.

fastvfr
12-28-2005, 22:09
No problem.

You can get a standard PCI graphics adapter that'll help alot but those games will have to be played at low detail settings for a good play on his current box.

But keep in mind that he now has a good reason to finally step into 21st Century computing, and those games will play perfectly on his new PC if he has it built to run them.

Here's what he'd need for that PC:

Here's the link... (http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=190148&AFFIL=pricewatch&NR=1)

And here's a pic:

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/ImageViewer/images/190148_1.jpg

This is an FX5200 that runs on the PCI slots he DOES have. RAM and CPU will keep things pretty tame but those games might play regardless.

El Dave
12-28-2005, 22:24
Thanks fastvfr.


And if things don't pan out, can you offer any tips on skinning knives and fishing reels for next christmas?


Happy new year to all. ;c ;c ;c

HAVOC
12-29-2005, 01:53
I'd go with this. (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814143032) Mostly technical differences, not terribly large ones, either.

Whether or not the differences will matter to your brother's gaming? Flip a coin.

*Supported Video Cards at Time of Release*

ATI Radeon 8500/9000/X series
NVIDIA GeForce 4/FX/6 series (GeForce 4 MX not supported)

Both my link, as well as vfr's are FX series cards. So you should be good to go. At least as good to go as you can be playing 2005 games on a 2002 economy line computer...

El Dave
12-29-2005, 09:57
Thanks. I'll let you know what he does and the results.

El Dave
12-31-2005, 19:54
He put in the FX5500 and it's running fine.


Thanks for all the information.