redirecting a domain [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : redirecting a domain


rick417
01-03-2006, 10:20
Hoping that this a quick and easy fix that I can do myself.
My hosting provider is still on vacation, I may be changing:(

Anyway, I acquired the domain name of another company that has gone out of business and want to direct traffic from that domain to a specific page on my site. I have gone into the controls page on network solutions and it appears that I can do this myself but I would need to have the numeric IP address of that page. I have the page created and online, I just need to point the other site there, right?
Can I do this myself? How do I find out the numeric IP?

Sorry if I am using the wrong terminology, this isn't my forte.

Nyper
01-03-2006, 10:43
I'm not sure I understand exactly what you are saying.

Do you have access to control the pages from the other domain that you want forwarded? If so, you could set the default page to a simple asp or javascript page with a re-direct script.

You can also use something like WHOIS.net to find the IP of your domain.

http://www.whois.net/whois.cgi2

Just type in your domain name (without the www.) and it should give you the IP. I could be completely wrong, but it worked for my domain. :)

You can also try to simply ping the domain. For instance, if you ping GLockTalk.com - you get 209.120.209.17
If you've never used ping before, click Start > Run. Type "cmd" to open the command line interface (or run command.com) - from the command line, simply type "ping glocktalk.com" without the quotation marks.

<img src="http://www.glocktalk.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=5512496">

Nyper
01-03-2006, 10:47
.

rick417
01-03-2006, 11:40
Thanks for the info. I was able to contact my hosting provider after all. Funny thing, they aren't good at answering the phone but returned my email with instructions in about 20 seconds.

pesticidal
01-03-2006, 11:57
I have several domains, and wrote this to redirect to my main one;




****** http-equiv="refresh"
CONTENT="0; url=http://www.mydomain.com/">





Of course, you change mydomain to the one you want to point to, and name the file index.html

edited:
The language filter would not allow me to use the head statement. replace the [ and ] with < and >

Nyper
01-03-2006, 12:22
.

David_G17
01-03-2006, 16:17
Originally posted by pesticidal
I have several domains, and wrote this to redirect to my main one;




****** http-equiv="refresh"
CONTENT="0; url=http://www.mydomain.com/">





Of course, you change mydomain to the one you want to point to, and name the file index.html

edited:
The language filter would not allow me to use the head statement. replace the [ and ] with < and >

i've heard meta re-directs may negatively influence search engine ranking. YMMV.