Calling a VET a squid. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Calling a VET a squid.

frefoo
02-20-2006, 18:23
Navy Vets,

Do you get offened when a "AF puke" calls you a "squid"?

I went shoping at the mall today, at one of the stores I started talking to the cashier...

I let him know of my service in the AF (F-15) and told me he was in the Navy (F-14).

I, without thought, and jokingly said "how is it going squid"

Turns out he was a Nam vet (20 plus years of service) and he looked offened that I called him a "squid".

I expected his response to call me a "flyboy" and we would both laugh.

Based on his reaction I think it may have insulted him.

I thanked him for his service to our country. He replied in kind, still I think I insulted him (was not my intention).

Did I mess up?

Fred Hansen
02-20-2006, 19:57
Sounds like he needs a sense of humor. `p

cliffb
02-20-2006, 20:38
Don't worry about it. I'm also a 22 year Vet with Nam service. Sounds like he may have had a thin skin but he'll get over it.
BTW, thanks for your service.

skyboss_4evr
02-20-2006, 20:47
I have no problem with a vet or active duty member of another service calling me a "squid." The only time it annoys me is if a civilian (non-veteran) calls me that. The way I see it, if you haven't served your country, you don't rate to use terms such as "squid" or "jarhead"... etc.

rhikdavis
02-20-2006, 20:50
Originally posted by skyboss_4evr
I have no problem with a vet or active duty member of another service calling me a "squid." The only time it annoys me is if a civilian (non-veteran) calls me that. The way I see it, if you haven't served your country, you don't rate to use terms such as "squid" or "jarhead"... etc.

^6

Crazy Ed
02-20-2006, 22:50