Anyone have AA give them a virus? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have AA give them a virus?


ClydeG19
04-05-2006, 13:23
Every time I dl AA, I seem to get a virus with it. I've uninstalled, quarantined the virus, and re-dl'ed from a different server and I get the same thing. The damn virus restarts my comp at random times.

d0truji
04-05-2006, 13:27
.

ClydeG19
04-06-2006, 02:48
No, it's an actual virus. My comp reboots at random times.

d0truji
04-06-2006, 06:25
What virus scanner are you running?

Are your virus definitions up to date?

What is the name of the virus that is being detected?

Where are you downloading AA from?

When is the virus detected? Install or at download?

ClydeG19
04-12-2006, 06:30
Norton AV Corporate

Yes

Various

Various mirrors

After uninstalling AA

d0truji
04-12-2006, 16:32
I don't think your problem is with AA. I think you have a virus that is not being cleaned (obviously) and is triggered by a file that AA uses. Could be a .dll or a system file.

For starters, I think you should try a different anti virus scanner.

Try Avast for a while and see how it reacts. It's free and works well.

AVAST (http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html)

Just be sure to uninstall Norton first.

Hope this helps.

Glacked79
04-14-2006, 15:53
http://housecall.trendmicro.com

Great online virus scan - and free.

It's not AA, unless the site you are DLing from is shooting something to you. Try another site.

Also, if it's not cleaning, it might be a form of a boot virus. Shutdown and unplug the power cable for 10sec or so. Plug it back in and try it again. I had a boot virus for a while that would give me funny crap - I did the unplug and everything went back to normal.

If you can't get anything to work, head to www.16aa.com and post up your problem in our general forums. Tell em Hollow sent you and you should be able to pick our resident geek's collective minds on the problem.