new business venture...realeastate need help [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : new business venture...realeastate need help

hotspada
04-30-2006, 17:52
hey all. i am 23 years old. i am a provisional teacher as of now. this is my last year teaching, i wont go back. my buddy is the same age as me and he went to embry riddle college in florida and graduated with a degree in flight control. hes having trouble finding a job as he is now on at least a one year waiting list. he needs to stay around the mid atlantic area because of his aging grandmother. i got him a job at my school as a security monitor but we both want better. we have decided to take the plunge and get into real estate. he feels the best way to go about it is to find a house needing some repair and flip it really quick. i dont feel we are in the position to do this because we all know how construction goes, not to mention not being able to definitely sell it within an alloted time. i dont wanna be stuck paying a mortguage for longer then i have to. my theory on it, was to get a house, a liveable house and rent it out. this way we have something to take a private loan out against and then use that money to , if its possible to say, comfortably flip a house. does anyone have any advice, how to go about this, what steps are needed. my father owns a contracting company so a lot of the work will be done in house. any suggestions?

DBradD
05-03-2006, 20:27
I like the idea of doing something entrepreneurial, but I strongly recommend against all this "we" crap. That is a good way to lose big time. I can come up with a bunch of likely doomsday scenarios right off the top of my head:

1. He gets in a car wreck, his fault, and he gets sued for $2M. Your property ends up in the lawsuit.
2. He gets married and then divorced. She gets half of his part. You get a partner, a very undesirable partner.
3. He simply loses interest. He doesn't have to be a bad, low character kinda guy to do this.