Tips on getting first FA [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Tips on getting first FA

binoy
06-22-2006, 00:31
Greetings BOG's, A newbie here and would like to ask around for some tips and tricks in getting my first firearm (g17 or g19).

Im planning to visit Makati Cinema one of these days to check out the prices. I have the ff questions in mind

1. Whats the local price of G17 and G19?
2. What are the things to ask so that I wouldnt look like a moron when it comes to fa's? :)
3. What are the recommended stores to visit? Do you have any contacts?
4. Is there a store that can rent you a g17 or g19 so that one could get a feel of the gun? (test fire if possible)

I would probably purchase the fa at the gun show this July. Would there be a BOG stall there :)
1. What are the requirements? The license procesing, how long does it take?

Thanks

horge
06-22-2006, 02:28
Hi :)

1. Whats the local price of G17 and G19?
You're looking at 35 to 42K depending on model, and on who's selling :)

2. What are the things to ask so that I wouldnt look like a moron when it comes to fa's?
You will look like a moron if you DON'T ask questions.
Ask, ask, ask, and ask. No matter how obvious the answer
might seem to whoever you're talking to. That said...
Ask about warranties; ask them to call FED warehouse to verify the
unit's existence and physical presence there, and ask for the unit's
serial number; ask about ammo/cleaners/substances that should NOT be
used with the pistol; ask exactly how much the licensing fees are, and
how much their 'processing fee' is separately; ask about timeframe
for delivery; ask about extra mag prices and other accesories;
...then deadpan ask 'em about the timeframe again. ;)

3. What are the recommended stores to visit? Do you have any contacts?
Weapons Systems Corp., if they still have Glock stock.
You can try Trust Trade too.

4. Is there a store that can rent you a g17 or g19 so that one could get a feel of the gun? (test fire if possible)