Security forces question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Security forces question

infantryman
07-11-2006, 16:18
I am 34 yrs old former army infantry and looking to get back into the military. the Security Forces interests me. I am meeting with the recruiter this week. This will be an Air National Guard stint. What can I expect at the tech school? PT, long days and nights? Will I be treated like a trainee piece of crap or a human? I was an E-1 private trainee 14 years ago. I'm too old and have accomplished too much to be treated like dirt again. I have been told it is 10 weeks long. Is there usually anytime for a guy to fly his wife and kids in and spend time with them during the 10 weeks. Any information will be greatly appreciated.

MrMurphy
07-11-2006, 21:19
Infantryman, i'll post what I can but PM me, i'm AD SF overseas fairly recently out of tech school.

It's "supposed" to be 10 weeks now. Was when I was in, but it's being extended for more infantry type stuff at Camp Bullis.

The basic training type stuff is kept to a minimum compared to how it used to be, when they had bars all over and you were basically locked in (they called it the Jailhouse).

Your first week out of BMT etc you're called a SAT (student awaiting training). Basically inprocessing. Couple of recent grads march you all around, briefings all day. Boring stuff, but the usual. How to set up your room and all that. Standard 2-man dorms. What's inside your wall locker is your affair unless they find it unlocked, and there's the usual room inspections to make sure you meet teh standard (not hard).

Area 1 is about a month. Cop stuff. Mostly classroom, the law, FATS simulator, crime scene investigation, domestic dist., etc roleplaying stuff, lots of bookwork. The first two weeks are boring then it gets better.