Made AF Recuiter Contact - Assistance Appreciated [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Made AF Recuiter Contact - Assistance Appreciated

C150J
08-02-2006, 20:09
Hi all -

I have been considering military service for three years now, and finally made initial contact with a recruiting office. It took me this long to really acknowledge the commitment and realize that I want to serve my country. I will probably be hearing from them within the week. My quals:

- B.S., Cornell University
- Certified Flight Instructor (650/100 for those that care), Commercial Pilot Single/Multi-Engine Land, Instrument Airplane
- Law Enforcement Experience (mostly through local/state/federal internships)
- 23 y/o

I know that I have quite a few questions, and certainly don't expect someone to give a comprehensive answer. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

1. I am very interested in serving as an officer - what I do is secondary. HOWEVER, I am naturally interested in flying and AFOSI. I know that one can apply to OTS "Pilot Only." Is there such a thing for AFOSI?

2. What is the deal with "expeditionary security forces?" Is this actually different from the "regular" SF? Are the officer duties not that attractive (I haven't heard good things, but it's all second-hand knowledge). I am mainly interested in the outside-the-fence operations.

3. I'm not sure of their official name now (used to be FAQs, maybe it's Tactical Air Controller now, not sure), but is this something that is within reach? I was never a super-athlete, but do have the ability to get into great shape (not PJ level though).

4. To reiterate, I am interested in whether or not I can choose these positions prior to "signing the line." I have a strong urge to serve, but would gain some peace of mind knowing what I'm going in for.

Thanks!
J.

MrMurphy
08-02-2006, 21:22