Krav Maga [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Krav Maga

paf040
08-29-2006, 19:37
Is anyone a practitioner of the Israeli martial art Krav Maga? I'm really considering taking this up. My background is Jiu-Jitsu, but I thought this would be a good addition.

Bu11dog
08-29-2006, 20:04
Just my .02 but for what they charge find yourself a dojo that is into good old fashioned blood sweat and tears. Find someone who really used the stuff not read some books and took some seminars.
Enjoy the hell out of it whenyou find it!!!

Skpotamus
08-29-2006, 20:27
real krav maga is great stuff, but real krav maga is very hard to find. Think of Tae Kwon Do, real TKD is pretty serious blood, sweat and tears. Olympic TKD is worthless for real fights though. Krav maga is the same way. You can get a KM certification through a mail order course, so there's a lot of BS schools out there.

Check it out like you should any other school, find a good, realistic school and stick with it regardless of the style.

ltgibson2001
08-29-2006, 21:37
Krav Maga is great for self defense purposes and for staying in shape. Not so great if you like sparring or for sport purposes because that application isnt really there in KM.With your background in Jiu-jitsu you will be way ahead on the ground defense in KM but the two definately compliment each other. I'm an Instructor for the Force Training Division side of KM and I love it. Im also a black belt in another martial art but for me personally I like Krav Maga better. Where are you located?

Islander-11
09-02-2006, 12:07
To parrot an old ad, I liked Krav Maga so much that I bought the franchise!