need some lure help please [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : need some lure help please

BManoftheyear
10-04-2006, 19:33
i'm not a professional,obviously i need some help.
where i fish at there are perch,bluegill,catfish,crappie,and bass.
it is a lake and i dont have boat access but i can walk around the lake thru the woods so i can cover a better area then the others who only fish on shore and off the dock.
i bought a daiwa d force pole and reel and i put a 12lb line on it.
i need to know what kind of lure to use?
I dont want to use the old bobber,worm and hook,even tho i have caught all the above fish with it before.I want to try something new.My grandfather says to use a spinnerbait,my grandmother says worm and hook my friends use worm and hook and they dont care what they catch.I just want something that maybe is able to get all the above fish mentioned without changing lures a bunch of times.I have the rubber plastic worms,in 3 inch to 12 inch,i have 3 inch yellow rubber grubs.
I just need someone with good experience to help a young buck out thankyou

noway
10-05-2006, 07:28
Why don't you use all that was suggestion to you?

You see what works one day might not the next and want works the next might not work the next day put yet it worked the 1st time out ;) see what I mean?

My dad has this one comment about crappie jig and color bodys.

"The fisherman who catches the most has the biggest variety of bodies"

Basically what he's saying. Fish are picky about what they eat.

Also since you mention 3+ varierty of fishes, theirs really not a bait that's best for all. Yes you can catch a perch/cat/blue/crappie/bass on a spinner bait but theirs an ideal bait for your waters that would catch the most or the biggest.

if I was you and targeting late fall bass I would look at a 6-8" worm on a carloina jig fish sloooooooooow. If you can get it 1-2ft off the bottom and slow crawl it, it should catch a bass or two.