Best Handgun Caliber for deer [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Best Handgun Caliber for deer

Ralphumor
12-06-2006, 09:54
I want to get a new hand gun to hunt white tail. I have killed one with a .357 4" open sights. It was a small doe but a blast. I am torn between a .44 or .357...A friend of mine has killed 2 with his .44 this year and a couple last year. He uses a 265 grain bullet that is just freakin HUGE. Every one he has shot drops and stays droped. So I will stop rambling and ask what do you think .357 or .44 or other. If you would also include what amo you would use as well. Thank You and Merry Christmas....:supergrin:

vafish
12-06-2006, 11:02
I've been using handguns for deer hunting for over 20 years now.

I prefer the .44 magnum. It just seems to work very well. I use 240 gr JHP's mostly but I have also used 240 gr JSP's and they worked just fine.

I've used a .45 Colt heavily loaded. It worked well too, but no better than the .44 magnum and I like the convienence of buying factory ammo if I don't have time to handload.

I say get the .44 magnum.

ajstrider
12-06-2006, 14:23