stupid question but meant in seriousness [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : stupid question but meant in seriousness

BattletweeteR
02-14-2007, 22:33
some background on me, I am an Air Force Vet from 93-98, I worked on electronic countermeasure systems on A-10s at C-130s Pope AFB(23rd flying tigers :) ), B-52s (Barksdale), and ECM jamming pods for F-16s(the Kun). that included the chaff and flare systems too. did a tour at Kobar towers(about a year before bomb), and AL-Jabar Kuwait. during those spontaneous military build up in the middle east due to Saddam moving his troops around, that started in Oct 94 IIRC

now....i just watched that video of a Marine Sea-knight chopper that got shot down by a shoulder launched SAM. I am pretty sure that chopper had a chaff and flare system and Rf sensor system....if they dont then what the hell?

i do think they have door gunners as well which also act as spotters for SAM's...could be wrong.

as i watched this missile go up, i counted about 5 seconds (possibly more)of missile launch before impact.

now the "question"

if the door gunner had some sort of belt fed 12 Ga. auto loaded weapon with large steel shot "steel turkey shot?" as ammo, would it be possible for him to shot down the SAM? like skeet shooting?

i believe a gunner may have some seconds of seeing the missile and if the Ga weapon loaded the special ammo with some sort of tracer element. he could possible move the field of shot to hit the missile before it hits the helicopter.

things i am not sure....is there such thing as a 12 Ga shot tracer?

how hard is it to shoot something while in a helicopter is doing evasive maneuvers? or would the helicopter have to change evasive maneuvers and fly in a straight line or a slow curve so allowing the door gunner to shot down the SAM?

i also know there could be collateral damage on the ground, but wouldn't the would the steel shot loose some of its momentum before it hits the ground?