Bill To Ban Gun Confiscations Advancing! [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Bill To Ban Gun Confiscations Advancing!


RMTactical
02-27-2007, 12:40
Gun Owners of America E-Mail Alert
8001 Forbes Place, Suite 102, Springfield, VA 22151
Phone: 703-321-8585 / FAX: 703-321-8408
http://www.gunowners.org

Tuesday, February 27, 2007


Well, there's good news and bad news in Salt Lake City.

The good news is that a bill that would change state law to prohibit
the confiscation of firearms and ammunition during a state of
emergency passed the Senate recently. That bill (SB 201) was
introduced by Sen. Mark Madsen (R-Dist. 13) and Rep. Carl Wimmer
(R-Dist. 52), and it has already passed the Senate by a nearly
unanimous vote of 26-3.

The bad news is that SB 201 is now stuck in the House Rules Committee
and will die on Wednesday night at the stroke of midnight, when the
House officially adjourns for the year!

It is imperative that you contact your state representative right
away, for this is an extremely important bill. You may recall that
during the Hurricane Katrina debacle in 2005, video documentation
surfaced showing that officials in New Orleans were disarming
law-abiding gun owners who were doing nothing more than keeping their
self-defense firearms available to protect their property and loved
ones. (You can view this disgusting footage at
http://www.gunowners.org/notb.htm on the GOA website.)

Last year, GOA worked in about a dozen states -- and at the federal
level -- to enact Emergency Protection laws to prevent this kind of
abuse from occurring. It's time for Utah to do the same.

SB 201 is an excellent bill. In addition to protecting your gun
rights, it creates a "cause of action" which allows you to sue the
cop who steals your gun, to sue the government to get your gun back,
and to get reimbursed for your attorney's fees when you win.

ACTION: Please contact your state representative and ask him to
support SB 201. This bill has passed the Senate but is now stuck in
the House Rules Committee.

Please urge your representative to actively push for the bill's
passage. You can look up your state rep. by going to
http://www.le.state.ut.us/maps/amap.html and entering your address. A
suggested message and roster of the Utah House are below.

----- Pre-written message -----

Dear Representative,

I agree with Gun Owners of America that SB 201 is an excellent bill,
and I would ask your support for this legislation to prohibit the
unlawful and unconstitutional confiscation of firearms during a
"state of emergency."

The bill would outlaw police misbehavior such as the outrageous
conduct in New Orleans following Hurricane Katrina, which was soundly
rebuked by the courts.

Please work to make sure that this important bill gets out of the
Rules Committee and is passed by the House and sent to the Governor.

Unlike some parts of the country, we in Utah value the right to keep
and bear arms. Again, please reinforce this right by supporting SB
201.

Sincerely,


***** Utah House of Representatives Roster *****

Phone: 801-538-1029
Toll-free Phone: 800-908-4261
Fax for Republican reps: 801-326-1544
Fax for Democratic reps: 801-326-1539

District Name E-mail

01 Menlove rmenlove@utah.gov
02 Ferry bcferry@utah.gov
03 Draxler jdraxler@utah.gov
04 Hunsaker fhunsaker@utah.gov
05 Wyatt swyatt@utah.gov
06 Gibson kwgibson@utah.gov
07 Donnelson gdonnelson@utah.gov
08 Froerer gfroerer@utah.gov
09 Hansen neilhansen@utah.gov
10 Shurtliff shurtliff@utah.gov
11 Dee bdee@utah.gov
12 Buxton dgreggbuxton@comcast.net
13 Ray pray@utah.gov
14 Oda coda@utah.gov
15 Aagard daagard@utah.gov
16 Garn kgarn@utah.gov
17 Fisher jfisher@utah.gov
18 Barrus rogerbarrus@utah.gov
19 Allen sherylallen@utah.gov
20 Neuenschwander pauln@utah.gov
21 Gowans jgowans@utah.gov
22 Duckworth cduckworth@utah.gov
23 Seelig jseelig@utah.gov
24 Becker rbecker@utah.gov
25 Johnson christinejohnson@utah.gov
26 Litvack dlitvack@utah.gov
27 Dougall jdougall@utah.gov
28 McGee rozmcgee@xmission.com
29 Fisher janicefisher@utah.gov
30 Biskupski jbiskupski@utah.gov
31 Wiley lwiley@utah.gov
32 Bigelow ronbigelow@utah.gov
33 Hendrickson nhendrickson@utah.gov
34 Holdaway koryholdaway@comcast.net
35 Wheatley markwheatley@utah.gov
36 Riesen priesen@utah.gov
37 Moss csmo***utah.gov
38 Hutchings ehutchings@utah.gov
39 Dunnigan jdunnigan@utah.gov
40 Hemingway lhemingway@utah.gov
41 Kiser toddkiser@utah.gov
42 Bird jbird@utah.gov
43 Harper wharper@utah.gov
44 Cosgrove tcosgrove@utah.gov
45 Walker mwalker@utah.gov
46 Morgan karenmorgan@utah.gov
47 Mascaro steven_mascaro@comcast.net
48 Andersen sylviaandersen@utah.gov
50 Newbold merlynnnewbold@utah.gov
51 Hughes greghughes@utah.gov
52 Wimmer cwimmer@utah.gov
53 Brown melbrown@utah.gov
54 Snow gsnow@utah.gov
55 Mathis jmathis@utah.gov
56 Sumsion ksumsion@utah.gov
57 Frank cfrank@utah.gov
58 Sandstrom ssandstrom@utah.gov
59 Fowlke lfowlke@utah.gov
60 Daw bdaw@utah.gov
61 Grover keithgrover@utah.gov
62 Herrod cherrod@utah.gov
63 Clark sclark@utah.gov
64 Lockhart blockhart@utah.gov
65 Tilton atilton@utah.gov
66 Morley mikemorley@utah.gov
67 Painter ppainter@utah.gov
68 Wheeler rwheeler@utah.gov
69 King brad.king@ceu.edu
70 McIff kaymciff@utah.gov
71 Last blast@utah.gov
72 Bowman bbowman@utah.gov
73 Noel mnoel@kanab.net
74 Clark dclark@utah.gov
75 Urquhart surquhart@utah.gov

BigBore45
03-01-2007, 02:33
I did my part RMTactical. It looks as though the Bill passed the Senate and won't be addressed till next year the House never voted on it and they have adjorned. I for one am glad this bill is being discussed and all looks positive for its approval. Maybe next year it will be passed. Keep your head up this would be good for all the pro gun individuals in our state.


shawn

Gibbles
03-03-2007, 14:00
I hope it passes. :thumbsup:

And I had noidea that in this state they could do what they did in LA.