State House to vote on SB 251 today! [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : State House to vote on SB 251 today!


thetoastmaster
02-28-2007, 07:47
I need everybody's help today. I've never asked for a favor from any GTer in my life, but this is important. Call up your state representative and ask him or her to vote against SB 251. This is a bill to restrict concealed carry at universities. I don't think I need to explain my opposition to this infringement to any here.

GOUtah! Alert #270 – 27 February 2007


Today’s Maxim of Liberty:

“A victim who fights back makes [violent crime] impractical.”

-- Jeff Cooper


U OF U GUN BAN MIGHT PASS

SB 251, the U of U gun ban bill, keeps making progress. It has now
been assigned to the floor of the House of Representatives for debate
and a vote. There are 25 other bills in front of it at the moment,
so it has a chance of being voted on tomorrow (Wednesday) before the
Legislature adjourns at midnight.

The good news is that this bill did not pass by a wide margin in the
Senate, and support for it in the House appears to be far from
unanimous. However, it may be close and could go either way. The
Utah Shooting Sports Council has published a list of representatives
whom they believe to be fence-sitters on this bill. If your own
representative is on this list, we encourage you to contact him about
HB 251 if you haven’t already and ask him to vote against this bill,
regardless of how it gets amended. This bill must simply be
defeated. Period. Representatives need to know that we will be
watching them very carefully on this bill and that we will remember
how they vote on it and we will hold them accountable during the 2008
elections if they vote for this bill.

We list each representative’s party affiliation in the event that you
are an officer (precinct chairman, county delegate, etc.) in the
political party to which your representative belongs. If so, you
should mention this when you communicate with him, as this will
likely cause him to give additional weight to your views.

If you read this alert Tuesday evening and your representative is on
this list, you may call him at home at a reasonable hour (say, before
9:30 p.m.). Otherwise, you can e-mail him or send a fax to the House
of Representatives with his name at the top of the page, or you can
leave a voice message at the House switchboard on Wednesday.

Ben Ferry (R-2) bcferry@utah.gov Home: 435-744-2997
Jack Draxler (R-3) jdraxler@utah.gov Home: 435-752-2668
Neil Hansen (D-9) neilhansen@utah.gov Cell: 801-564-0862
Brad Dee (R-11) bdee@utah.gov Home: 801-479-5495
Gregg Buxton (R-12) dgreggbuxton@comcast.net Cell: 801-690-1220
Douglas Aagard (R-15) daagard@utah.gov 801-546-3935
Paul Neusenschwander (R-20) pauln@utah.gov Cell: 801-755-3971
James Gowans (D-21) jgowans@utah.gov Home: 435-882-2120
Carl Duckworth (D-22) cduckworth@utah.gov Home: 801-250-0728
Jennifer Seelig (D-23) jseelig@utah.gov Home: 801-519-2544
John Dougall (R-27) jdougall@utah.gov Home: 801-492-1365
Larry Wiley (D-31) lwiley@utah.gov Home: 801-487-8095
Ron Bigelow (R-32) ronbigelow@utah.gov Home: 801-968-4188
Kory Holdaway (R-34) koryholdaway@comcast.net Home: 801-964-6360
Jim Bird (R-42) jbird@utah.gov Home: 801-280-9056
Wayne Harper (R-43) wharper@utah.gov Home: 801-566-5466
Gordon Snow (R-54) gsnow@utah.gov Home: 435-722-4162
Lorie Fowlke (R-59) lfowlke@utah.gov Home: 801-225-0721
Stephen Clark (R-63) sclark@utah.gov Home: 801-374-6927
Richard Wheeler (R-68) rwheeler@utah.gov 435-283-4133
Brad Last (R-71) blast@utah.gov Home: 435-635-7334

Utah State House of Representatives
Phone: (801)538-1029
Toll-free Phone: (800)908-4261
Fax for Republican representatives: (801)326-1544
Fax for Democratic representatives: (801)326-1539

Voice message for representatives: I live in your district. I
encourage you to vote against SB 251, the U of U gun ban. This bad
bill needs to be completely defeated. Thanks for your time.



Read more about the bill here: http://www.utahshootingsports.com/

Find your representative here: http://www.le.state.ut.us/house/index.htm

We can kill this bill, but it will take all of us.

GixxerSixxer
02-28-2007, 10:36
I think the latest news has been that the bill was gutted.

The only part that remains involves the dorm issue and residents having the ability to not be roomed with CCW holder if they choose not to.

Sambolijah
02-28-2007, 12:16
Is there a way to view the current wording
that the House would be voting on?

As long as it doesn't pass before midnight tonight,
we're in the clear, right?

GixxerSixxer
02-28-2007, 13:12
Here is the new last ditch effort. It has been reduced to just the dorm part.

le.utah.gov/~2007/bills/sbillint/sb0251s01.pdf

thetoastmaster
02-28-2007, 16:32
It's still an infringement; and I am still against it.

Is there a way to see the bill's scheduled vote online?

thetoastmaster
02-28-2007, 16:36
If it passes the house, it still has to go to conference committee. If it dies on the floor, we're rid of it for almost a year.

Sambolijah
03-01-2007, 09:08
So it's now thursday.
Legislature is closed.

Did it pass?

GixxerSixxer
03-01-2007, 09:21
Originally posted by Sambolijah
So it's now thursday.
Legislature is closed.

Did it pass?

Yes it passed. They have no way of enforcing it though since the CCW list is closed.

From what I heard the bill also allows a student to mark their room a "no gun zone" and enforce it as long as they provide their own metal detectors and security.:rofl:

Sambolijah
03-01-2007, 09:22
No kidding?

Good luck then. Sounds like it's become more of a feel-good measure than anything that will really hamper CCWers.

thetoastmaster
03-01-2007, 09:24
Still, it's another paper cut, another law on the books to slowly bleed liberty dry.

Thanks to all that actively engaged themselses this legislative session. Imagine how bad it could have been.

Gibbles
03-03-2007, 14:17
:rofl:
Sounds like a joke, still I wish they had just fought them for a no change. But I guess it came down to just getting them to shut up and go away and stop wasting state money on this nonsense.

For some reason I can picture some girly guy wearing girl clothes and a belly shirt holding a metal detector scanning everyone and a No Gun sign on his door, he can probably use it as an excuse to feel guys up :upeyes: Heck one could “borrow” his sign and his wand and use it on girls! (Kidding mostly ;) )
I wonder if one could ask for a non liberal roommate.
:tongueout:

I think someone might need to abuse this nonsense. :thumbsup:

thetoastmaster
03-03-2007, 14:27
I'd bet everything from a damned-if-I-know to a diddle-eyed Joe that this isn't the end, but that they'll reintroduce the original bill next session. Instead of putting this thing down, our congresscrtters have already shown their desire to "compromise" with the socialists.

Gibbles
03-03-2007, 14:42
Hell if you can ask for a non gun packing roommate why can't you ask for a packing one? It might be nice having a roommate that you have something to talk about. Liberals could see this as their idea backfiring; “Oh noes, they are teaming up! Hurry get back in the liberal mobile (VW of some sort, probably a Jetta or bus painted up with perdy flowers and rainbows) and head back to frisko!”
:animlol:

:patriot: