New to the Triangle [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : New to the Triangle

lesterm
03-28-2007, 21:37
Hi all,

I recently moved to the Triangle area (Durham, I'm a grad student at Duke), and was looking at firearms laws, and was shocked to see that Durham requires a pistol purchase permit and two character references. As a former resident of Pennsylvania, I was a little shocked to hear of this rule. Is this only for Durham county, or does this hold for all of NC? What about the surrounding counties, like Orange?

SBM
03-28-2007, 21:41
All 100 counties require you to have either a pistol permit to buy, or a CCP. NC is a shall issue state, so unless you have sometthing in your past that would keep you from owning one, its not a big deal. Before I got my CCP, I just bought 5 at a time. Each counties permit department will vary in the time that it takes to get them, if you are just buying a permit...around here, if they know you, its about a day, otherwise, 5 to 30 from what I hear in other counties.

Dinky
03-28-2007, 21:59
2 permits from Durham and they will take all of the required time.

I believe they still requier you to register your handgun.

And they take the full 90 days for a carry permit.

Someone correct me if I am wrong.

Welcome to Durham:wavey:

bogey3737
03-31-2007, 14:11
Originally posted by lesterm
Hi all,

I recently moved to the Triangle area (Durham, I'm a grad student at Duke), and was looking at firearms laws, and was shocked to see that Durham requires a pistol purchase permit and two character references. As a former resident of Pennsylvania, I was a little shocked to hear of this rule. Is this only for Durham county, or does this hold for all of NC? What about the surrounding counties, like Orange?