Ever synch with someone else's flash? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Ever synch with someone else's flash?


nipperwolf
03-30-2007, 19:41
did my second annual AMA Supercross practice session pics trip on Saturday. haven't posted anything yet. still sorting, rented a D80 for a weekend tryout,......but that's a whole other thread. ;)

anyway, check out this three shot burst sequence. taken with my D50 and 50mm 1.8. my 80-200 2.8 was on the D80.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v605/nippr/SX2/DSC_3965Bvw.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v605/nippr/SX2/DSC_3966Bvw.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v605/nippr/SX2/DSC_3967Bvw.jpg

the second pic just happened to fire when one of the on track photographers flash fired.

this happened to me once last year at the National Drag Race in Indy.

Fred
03-30-2007, 22:55
Even with the double flash, all three are really nice shots. :thumbsup:

nipperwolf
03-31-2007, 02:45
Originally posted by Fred
Even with the double flash, all three are really nice shots. :thumbsup:

Thanks, Fred. actually, it wasn't a double flash, since I wasn't using a flash. :supergrin:

Fred
03-31-2007, 10:30
Originally posted by nipperwolf
Thanks, Fred. actually, it wasn't a double flash, since I wasn't using a flash. :supergrin:

Ah, that explains why the exposure is good. I was thinking two flashes and wondering why it wasn't over exposed. :)

krinkov
04-05-2007, 06:13
It's never a remote possibility to "synch" with someone else's flash especially in a photo op where a bunch of photogs would be. This would also be possible when not shooting flash as you might be using a slower shutter speed than what others are using. I've had a few occasions where a flash fired into my frame. The fact that it was "off-cam" gave the shot a little more drama. I've also had instances when I needed to fire a point and shoot's flash as back up to an SLR just to light up an informal portrait.

jolly roger
04-05-2007, 11:50
The D50 will not synch with remote flashes unless you have the SU-800 unit attached. The D80 will though through the on board flash, and if other people have their Nikon gear around with the SB600 or SB800 flash on remote setting, or a Wein Slave unit or something similar, you probably will fire nearby flashes remotely.

nipperwolf
04-05-2007, 14:32
Originally posted by jolly roger
The D50 will not synch with remote flashes unless you have the SU-800 unit attached.

Yes, I know. I probably should have worded my title differently. as I mentioned, I wasn't using a flash. it was just a coincidence that the other flash went off while my shutter was open. ;)

it happened once last year with two other flashes;

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v605/nippr/DSC_9055w.jpg