Places to shoot near Jenison / Hudsonville [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Places to shoot near Jenison / Hudsonville

Jason12345
04-08-2007, 20:38
I am just starting out pistol shooting and want to put in range time to improve accuracy and maybe lead to IDPA in the future.

I am looking for recommendations for a place to shoot on the west side of Grand Rapids. I live between Jenison and Hudsonville and work downtown GR. The ranges I've seen mentioned in these forums near me include West Walker, South Kent, Tulip City, and GR Rifle and Pistol.

What I am looking for is someplace to shoot mostly pistol (9mm) and very little rifle. I prefer to find someplace I can drop in for quick but frequent sessions (lunch hours, while out and about, etc)- so ideally this would be an annual fee with unlimited range and flexible range hours (self access would be ideal) as opposed to a pay-per-use arrangement. Indoor would be a plus given the long winters. Also, family friendly would be great as I have a young son I'd like to get some exposure to the sport.

Of the ones I've seen mentioned, GRRP is most conveniently located but seems to focus on bullseye / .22 target pistol. West Walker and South Kent seem like good options but you can't tell too much from their web sites.

Obviously I will be visiting these places myself, but I wanted to get this groups thoughts / opinions about the pistol ranges on the west side of GR.

Thanks!

jooos
04-08-2007, 21:07
Silver bullet firarms in GR, on divsion between 44th and 54th street...

http://www.silverbulletfirearms.com/

:thumbsup:

gsbell
04-09-2007, 14:22
South Kent just started shooting IDPA this year. Second Sunday of every month, registration at 9:00 AM shooting starts at 9:30 AM

Newbies are welcome just let the Match Director and Range Officer know you are new and they will help you out. For that matter so will your fellow shooting squad members.

Tack
04-10-2007, 07:40