energy booster for workouts [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : energy booster for workouts

wallyglock
05-14-2007, 04:27
i am nearing 60 but still stay in shape with some light- to medium lifting and some bike riding when i can get the time.

what is being used for a pre-work out boost by the rest of everyone who still do more intense workouts ? !

have been given some " greens today" energy booster tablets and they were pretty decent i thought.

does gnc have something i should try ? or would something simple such as a small peanut butter sandwhich do just as good before i work out ?
again, how about gnc do they have anything similar or better than the greens today tabs that work ??
am looking for the simplicity of the chewable tabs if possible.

sometimes i feel a little bushed from the very physical job that i have and feel a need for the pick up before excercising !!

thanks wally

DBradD
05-14-2007, 08:13
I am not an expert, but I read this in The Paleo Diet for Athletes by Cordain and Friel. I've used it some and it seems to work fine. I don't know squat about supplements.

This is my brief summary.

Consume 200 cal. per hour prior to exercise. Example: if meal is 2 hours before exercise, eat 400 calories.

Mostly low GI carbs, but not ultra-low due to lots of fiber which could hang around in your gut absording water. Good choices are bananas, peaches, cantaloupe, apple sauce (no sugar added).

Include protein rich in BCAA. Examples are eggs, whey protein powder, and meat.

10 min. before start, eat 100-200 calories from a high-GI source such as a sports drink, followed by 6-8 ounces of water. I don't usually bother with this step.

Edit: One more thing, although I didn't get this from the book. How 'bout caffeine?! I think a good shot of caffeine helps my workouts. I've read a few things about this, but can't remember the details.