what kind of RAM do I have? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : what kind of RAM do I have?


WRMorrison
05-27-2007, 10:44
I'm trying to upgrade to more RAM, but I'm unsure what I have. The label on the 512MB stick that's in it says:

512 MB PC2-5300
283#457126*04187

I'd like to upgrade to (2) 1GB sticks, but couldn't find anything similar online.

Thanks in advance,
-WRM

WRMorrison
05-27-2007, 10:52
OK, maybe I asked too early, I found some...I think.

I found DDR2 memory that seems to be what I need, but I've noticed that it either states PC5300 or PC2-5300 (or 8500, 6400, 4200, etc.).

Does it make a difference?

-WRM

Washington,D.C.
05-27-2007, 10:54
PC2-5300 is the same as DDR2-667Mhz RAM. Is it for a laptop and or a Mac? There may be some differences. What make and model PC?

Washington,D.C.
05-27-2007, 10:57
PC2-4200 is slower than what you now have. You could go to a larger number than 5300(faster RAM) but it may not run any faster than what is in your PC.

Washington,D.C.
05-27-2007, 10:59
See here

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductList.jsp?ThirdCategoryCode=110807

WRMorrison
05-27-2007, 11:01
Thanks for the reply. This is for a desktop PC that I had a "friend-of-a-friend" build for me (to solely run solidworks and operate my CNC mini-mill).

Since the price is somewhat reasonable, I might go for 2x2GB.

-WRM

Tom34
05-27-2007, 19:24
If you go to the Crucial (http://www.crucial.com/index.asp?com=mu) web site. Just down from the top is a tool that will "read" the memory on your system and make upgrade suggestions.