Carry at the Hammond 'festival of the lakes'... [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Carry at the Hammond 'festival of the lakes'...

Prometheus77
06-01-2007, 19:53
Hammonds "festival of the lakes" is coming up middle of this month.

Blues Travler (gun fan) and Travis Tritt will be be preforming so I'll be going to this one...

Plenty of signs at the gates say no firearms, blah blah blah... Last year they had a boatload of cops at the gate but no checking for anything... Live was there, shame Ed Kowalchek was sick.

Anyway since it's not a "state fair" carry is legal correct?

Indy_Guy_77
06-01-2007, 19:55
Unless Lake County has some sort of prohibition against it... Personally, I would presume that it's perfectly legal. I'm not a lawyer, but I have stayed at several Holiday Inns.

-J-

R. Emmelman
06-02-2007, 08:22
Is it state owned property? :thumbsup:

Is it federal owned property? :sad:

Is it city owned property? :sad:

Is it private owned property? :cool:

minuteman32
06-05-2007, 11:34
I have heard recently that several agencies in Lake Co. have started, when they find someone carrying a gun, taking it & taking that person to jail. If you have an LTC, they will cut you loose, but make you return w/ "proof of ownership" for the pistol!

While this has not happened to me, I got this from a local attorney w/ a specific interest in IN gun laws.

R. Emmelman
06-05-2007, 12:54
Originally posted by minuteman32
...If you have an LTC, they will cut you loose, but make you return w/ "proof of ownership" for the pistol! ...
Kinda hard to show proof on my 50 year old S&W Model 10 I inherted from my father.:upeyes:

minuteman32
06-05-2007, 14:01
Exactly! Like so may other facist groups, if they can't outright ban something, they will make it so hard to exercize your rights that 'you' give them up.

R. Emmelman
06-05-2007, 14:39
So has anyone taken them to task over this? As I recall the city of Gary tried to keep from issuing LTCH and got sued for doing so.