McAfee Security Center Corrupted [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : McAfee Security Center Corrupted


Gary1911A1
06-28-2007, 09:18
I have a few questions I hope someone can help me with. My McAfee Security Center appers to be "jinked" and and I cannot reinstall my McAfee as prompted to by my PC. The McAfee was installed by Dell and on Vista there does not appear to be a way to uninstall it.

1) It appears to be McAfee 7.1. Is this all I need to know if I go to Wal-Mart to get one? Often their sales people know about as much as I do.

2) Do I nees to uninstall the old McAfee before loading the new?

Thanks for any help.

Washington,D.C.
06-28-2007, 10:23
http://ts.mcafeehelp.com/faq3.asp?docid=408302


http://download.mcafee.com/products/licensed/cust_support_patches/MCPR.exe

Washington,D.C.
06-28-2007, 10:24
Yes use the above program to completely uninstall everything McAfee.

Washington,D.C.
06-28-2007, 10:25
You may want something other than McAfee for security.

Washington,D.C.
06-28-2007, 10:30
AVG works the best with Vista.

http://www6.grisoft.com/doc/products-avg-internet-security/us/crp/2

Washington,D.C.
06-28-2007, 10:35
After uninstalling McAfee restart your PC. You can install the free of AVG for protection until you decide to buy something. It's good one and doesn't expire. Easy to uninstall if needed.

http://filehippo.com/download_avg_antivirus/

EAJuggalo
07-01-2007, 01:11
I've had very good luck with Panda since I "upgraded" to Vista Home Premium.

Grimsi
07-01-2007, 01:52
Anything "mc CRAP a fee" is bad, wipe it and toss it!

Blitzer
07-01-2007, 05:05
The Zone Alarm Security suite works well too. :thumbsup: