Moving to IL/Chicago with guns? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Moving to IL/Chicago with guns?

cessnastud
07-02-2007, 21:18
Hey guys,

My buddy is going to be moving to the Chicago area later this year and he asked me if there were any "wacky" gun laws in Illinois. I told him that I thought IL had some of the nation's toughest laws and he wasn't pleased to hear that. I'm no expert, I'm in Ohio, but I told him I thought he would need to get a FOID card. He'll be bringing a Glock 32 with him. My best guess is that he would have to get the FOID card ASAP after moving there, but I've been known to be wrong now and again. What is the process like and how long does it usually take? Any advice that I can pass along would be helpful.

Thanks,

cs

Thiokol
07-02-2007, 21:55
Yes, he will have to get an FOID to legally posess his firearm and to purchase ammunition. If he's moving to Chicago or Morton Grove, he cannot possess the Glock within city limits. There are also one or two other cities with crazy local laws restricting handgun possession. The rest of the area, including Cook County are relatively free of the wackiness.

isp2605
07-03-2007, 06:47
He will need a FOID card. If he applies now he most likely will get it within 30 days and possibly less. If he waits until September or later in the fall the processing time gets a lot longer. Hunters wait until hunting season to check their FOIDs, find out they are expired, and the office gets flooded with renewals. That causes some serious delays.
If you go to http://www.isp.state.il.us/foid/ordinances.cfm it lists some of the cities/towns that have laws more restrictive than state law. It's not an all-inclusive list because that's an ever changing process so just because a town isn't listed doesn't mean a town isn't more restrictive.
For state law there really isn't any restrictions on firearm ownership other than just requiring a FOID.

cessnastud
07-03-2007, 07:49