Java Enabled? Website Not Working for Some [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Java Enabled? Website Not Working for Some


Cali-Glock
07-12-2007, 09:53
While I am not a professional webmaster I put together a website in 2000 using an http://www.apycom.com/ applet for drop down navigation menus. By chance I am in the process of overhauling the whole site and I had intended to use the same (or perhaps a newer) apycom java applet to drive my navigation menus.

By chance someone this week complained that they could not get the old/current site to work. Sure enough the java applet does not appear on their browser. I checked with appycom.com and their website says:


Our applets use JDK 1.1, which provides the widest possible java compatibility. Every java-enabled browser should work with our menus. "Java-enabled" means that the browser has Java Virtual Machine or Java-plugin installed.

Hmm so what is the deal - I checked five PCs and three of them (Three running XP, one running 2000, and the last running Vista.) Two of the XP machines, and the 2000 machine all pulled up the site fine and the java applet works, while one XP machine and the Vista machine would not even recognize the applet.

Windows Explorer 7.xx is running on the two machines which won't run the applet, but 7.xx is also running on one of th PCs which runs the applet. The security settings appear to be the same and "Scripting of java applets" is enabled.

- Then someone suggested that they understood Java used to be bundled with IE or windows or something, and now is not.

So I then went to http://www.javatester.org/version.html

The machines which will run the java applet test positive for having Java installed, and the PCs which don't see the java don't have java installed.

So what is the deal? How is my best way to handle this. Google and Java point me to http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp to download a Java Plug-In but there are a bunch of options and this seems cumbersome.

Is Java too much of a dinosaur to be used anymore? What is the long term fix for users?

Thanks!

Blitzer
07-12-2007, 10:17
Install the simplest Java for the platform (version of Windows). That is just install the runtime engine, and no it is not obsolete. ;)

Cali-Glock
07-12-2007, 10:54
Originally posted by Blitzer
Install the simplest Java for the platform (version of Windows). That is just install the runtime engine, and no it is not obsolete. ;)

Thank you!! I don't recall having to seek out and download Java in the past. What is the deal - was Java bundled with older Operating Systems or older Browsers, but not with newer Operating Systems or Browsers, or was it simply a hit or miss as to if the PC builder installed Java as part of their "bundle"?

I am thinking I need to put something on the website which reads something like this: (yes/no?)


This site requires that your browser is "Java Enabled" which means that you have Java installed on your PC. If you do not see our navigation bars, there may be a problem with your current installation of Java.

To check to see what version of Java you have on your PC here: http://www.javatester.org/version.html

You may download Java here: http://www.java.com/en/download/index.jsp

Furant
07-12-2007, 11:14
Consider using CSS for your dropdown menus. It'll be faster, easier to modify and more standards compliant for browser versions that you probably hadn't even considered.

http://www.alistapart.com/articles/horizdropdowns
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/chrome/index.htm

Washington,D.C.
07-12-2007, 15:11
There is a security feature in JRE 1.6 that excludes some websites for some reason. JRE 1.5 does not have this. I think that is why the it works for the older OS's.

Washington,D.C.
07-12-2007, 15:12
The latest release of JRE 1.6 included a bug fix but I'm not sure if it's for those exclusions. I haven't tried it. I went back to JRE 1.5.

Washington,D.C.
07-12-2007, 15:14
I don't know if 1.5 will run on Vista but here are all of the versions.


http://filehippo.com/download_java_runtime/

It won't fix the website but should allow the OS to see it properly.