How to get an Airborne Slot? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How to get an Airborne Slot?

chR|5
07-23-2007, 18:43
I want my wings, do I have to re-up, or is there an "easier" way to obtain a slot?

Currahee
07-24-2007, 06:17
I worked as a BN schools NCO for a year in a light infantry BN.

Airborne is a difficult school to get without getting it in your re-enlistment contract. The Army uses it as a recruiting and rewards tool so there aren't many slots handed out to non-Airborne units.

Are you are good terms with your 1SG? If so, talk to him about it (go through your chain of command of course). He can find out if there are slots available and push for you to get one if available. Don't talk directly to the Schools NCO or your 1SG. If you are on bad terms with your 1SG then just forget about it because he will have to push to get you a slot.

Feel free to PM me if you want further advice.

fourdeuce2
07-29-2007, 14:25
Getting the SCHOOL used to be easy. Getting assigned to an airborne unit used to be a bit tougher. I had no problem when I put in for Airborne School. I typed up my 4187 and gave it to the battalion commander(I was working in the S-1 shop at the time ;) ). He asked me if I wanted to get out of his unit that bad.:animlol: I told him I had been thinking of going Airborne for years, which was true. He signed the paperwork, and a few months later, I went to the school.
I had assignment instructions to go to an Airborne unit after completing Airborne School, but when I got to Germany(where they sent me), they said they didn't have any Airborne units there. They said they could either send me to an Airborne unit in Italy or keep me in Germany. I decided to stay in Germany.:wavey:

xxiv
07-31-2007, 08:48
Originally posted by chR|5
I want my wings, do I have to re-up, or is there an "easier" way to obtain a slot?

Do you want to be a paratrooper or just wear the wings of one?

chR|5
08-01-2007, 11:38