Tribute to Fallen Hero [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Tribute to Fallen Hero

alamarc
07-26-2007, 07:51
I would like to take a minute to make a personal tibute to a fallen hero.

Paul J. McManus was the best person anyone could ever want to meet.

Although i am not a firefighter i am a police officer and i can really appreciate what firefighters do day in a day out.

Forced into retirement after an illness he never wanted to give up the job.

Rest easy Paul.....

http://www.telegram.com/article/20070726/NEWS/707260773/1116/NEWSREWIND

Alaska tragedy

2 vacationing couples killed in plane crash

By Betty Lilyestrom CORRESPONDENT
blilyestrom@telegram.com

LEICESTER— Two couples who don’t ordinarily include cruises and sightseeing flights in their summer vacation plans decided to do so this year, and lost their lives on Tuesday as a result.

Paul J. McManus, 60, and his wife, Marianne, 56, of 319 Auburn St. in the Cherry Valley section of Leicester, and William F. Eddy, 59, and his wife Jeanne H., 58, of Jacksonville, Fla., were killed when their sightseeing plane crashed in the mountains of Misty Fjords National Monument near Ketchikan, Alaska. Mrs. McManus and Mrs. Eddy were sisters who grew up in Worcester. Mr. Eddy was from Vermont.

Mr. McManus was a former Worcester firefighter, serving most of his 25 years at the city’s Webster Square station. He retired five years ago. He also was a retired ensign from the U.S. Navy Reserve.

The single-engine floatplane, a de Havilland Beaver, left Ketchikan shortly before 1:30 p.m. for a tour over the fjords. Alaska State Police said early yesterday that Joseph H. Campbell, 56, of Ketchikan, was flying the plane. A dispatcher for Taquan Air, the Ketchikan-based flight operator, reported the plane missing after trying to contact the pilot for 20 minutes without success, said Len Laurance, a Taquan spokesman.