Identifying a Real "Baby" [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Identifying a Real "Baby"

bisoy
07-30-2007, 03:09
good day gentlemen. i would like to ask from you how to identify if an m16 unit is a real "baby" or a converted one. i am new to m16 rifles so pictures would help a lot.

my second question is... what do i check in general to be sure that i am buying a good gun? what do i check and how do i check it?

thanks in advance.

charlie-xray
07-30-2007, 04:30
Originally shared by Sir Isuzu I think, am not sure. But here it is.

There are several things that you might want to look. Make sure that the owner allows you to field strip the rifle. If he doesn't allow you to field strip the rifle, walk away from it. Here are some things that I look when buying an M16.

1. Look at the appearance of the rifle. Look for signs of excessive wear on the finish; check if the rifle has been refinished (anodized for aluminum) and check for cracks on the stock and forearm. You may also want to check if the contact areas of the disassembly pins if are worn out. There are some that had the front pin holes re-welded. Wiggle the front and rear sights. If there's play on the rear sights, that could be a problem. It also speaks of the rifle's age and how it was maintained.

2. Pull the trigger (make sure the rifle's empty). If you notice any of the pins that are related to the trigger group "walks" or is loose, you won't get constistent trigger pulls. Again, this is a sign of an aging rifle and an improperly maintained rifle. A rifle that is fairly new has an authoritative sound when the hammer drops. A rifle with a weak hammer spring doesn't.

3. Make sure that the barrel is not worn out. If it's a chrome bore barrel, you're in luck. They usually last three times as much as a non-chrome barrel. Take the flash hider out, and insert a 5.56mm ammo into the bore. If the bullet goes through, then, it's a worn out barrel.