Human Weapon on History Channel [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Human Weapon on History Channel

hotlunch
08-08-2007, 20:54
Can't believe no one has brought this topic up yet. Great show!

Bullman
08-09-2007, 04:31
While I am not a martial artist, other than shooting that is, I watched the episode the other night on escrima and I was intrigued. Do you know if it is taught much in the US? or is it something one would most likely have to travel to the Phillipines to study.

ltgibson2001
08-09-2007, 19:42
It's taught all over the US. There is also KAli and Arnis which are very similar to Escrima and are also FMA.

hotlunch
08-09-2007, 19:50
So far I think all the styles of fighting they have shown are available to learn here in America. I know you can get classes in Muy Thai and of course Karate and escrima.

Doubt the French fighting method (savat or whatever it's called) is taught around here though. That one will probably be a so-so episode. I'm looking forward to the one on Israeli Krav Maga. Now that is a fighting method that seems useful.

I'm thinking of getting the show on DVD now that it's available.

ltgibson2001
08-09-2007, 20:01
Originally posted by hotlunch
I'm looking forward to the one on Israeli Krav Maga. Now that is a fighting method that seems useful.

It is !!!! But I'm kind of biased because I'm an Instructor. Alot of it was taken from other Martial Arts systems and some of it they came up with on their own and refined it from a working perspective for their military and national police. It is strictly self defense though and doesn't really have a sport application like other martial arts do. That's neither a good thing or a bad thing ( because I like sport fighting/mma)but just what Krav Maga is.

Bullman
08-09-2007, 20:04
I think what I enjoyed most about escrima is the stick work. I think I would most likely enjoy anything with sticks:supergrin:

hotlunch
08-11-2007, 18:39