Need info about becoming a paramedic [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Need info about becoming a paramedic

M_Dail
09-03-2007, 15:52
I am interested in becoming a paramedic. I live in a rural area and there are no paramedics in the western half of our county; only three in the entire county as is. The rest are EMT's but none that can administer any medication so they are often severely limited. I live in central KS but it seems the people I ask aren't sure whom to refer me to nor what it would take for me to reach that level.

Currently I have a bachelor of science degree but it was in economics. I'm sure some of the curriculum will count but obviously not all of it. What I'm looking for is the requirement needed to reach this goal so I can assess if it's something I want to commit to right now.

Thanks for any help!

Michael

mkh100
09-03-2007, 22:15
try this:

http://www.ksbems.org/main.html

http://www.ksbems.org/Resource%20list.htm

requirements vary considerably from state to state.

Some of your education may count if you seek a degree......but typically the Paramedic curriculum is for "certification" and its not dependant on all the other typical college courses. Here in Florida EMT-P (Paramedic) is taught through technical schools or Junior College and it takes approx. 3 semesters (1 year) to complete.....there are other options like accelerated courses, but they where way to costly for me.

I don't recall for certain but I think its a DOT requirement that you be an EMT Basic first......it was required at my school.

YMMV.......States get to regulate this stuff, so how its taught may be very different in your area. Someone from your area will hopefully chime in with better info.

Good Luck,

Mike

4095fanatic
09-03-2007, 23:11
3 paramedics? Start practicing saying "This is Unit ____, I'm upgrading ambulance xxx for a Priority 2 pt." lol.