Private Ambulance company entrance exam questions [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Private Ambulance company entrance exam questions

DJTHEMAC
09-05-2007, 18:41
Howdy all! I am a newly registered EMT-B. I applied to work for a private ambulance transport company and was given a 30 question "entrance exam," which i failed. I guess you need 24/30 to pass. What irritates the heck out of me is that I passed my EMT class with 95%, and nailed the NREMT test the first time, yet I failed some dinky test. Anyhow, if anybody could help me rethink some of my answers, I can retest at a later date.

Q1. Your Patient has just had a seizure and has an altered LOC. His girlfriend is there and tells you that he has a history of seizures, and has been prescribed tegritol. The MOST appropriate question to ask is:
1. Is the patient an alcohol abuser? (my choice)
2. Describe the onset of the seizure
3. When was the last time he saw his physician
4. How long has this patient had a history of seizures?

Q2. What is the correct treatment for a child who has had a seizure?
1. Cool down with wash cloths
2. Rapid transport, calm the mother down enroute.

Q3. Your patient has chest pain and is breathing at 24times a minute adequately. The MOST correct treatment is
1. BVM/O2 assist vent (my choice, due to the 24 times a minute, but the question said some that the breaths were ADEQUATE meaning maybe a non rebreather is a better option)
2. Non-rebreather focused history/physical

Q4. You have an elderly patient who recent had a hip replacement. This patient wakes up in the middle of the night with dried blood around her mouth and chest pain. She most like has
1. COPD
2. Pulmonary Edema (my choice)
3. Spontaneous pnuemothorax
4. one other injury

Q5. What injury is most to present pain in the the Right Upper Quadrant
1. appendicitis
2. pancreatitis (my choice, but I had no idea)
3. Cholecysticitis
4. another injury with an "itis" in it.