New here with a few questions [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : New here with a few questions

CHRgma58
09-21-2007, 20:42
I posted this in the Non-Glock forum, and it was suggested that I also post it here, so here goes:

Hello! I have been reading this forum for the last week almost non-stop (only away when my day job got in the way). I have gained a lot of information, for which I thank all the board members.

I am a widow, a grandma and Assistant Manager at a retail store. I was formerly an armed security officer at a nuclear power plant(some 20 odd years ago). And, I graduated from the Charlotte Police Academy in 1980.

I have always loved to shoot. My dad taught my siblings and I to shoot as soon as we were old enough to safely hold a gun. I won several smaller competitions in my early teens with a .22 rifle.
I plan to obtain my CCL soon. I currently own a Ruger Speed Six, .357 magnum, purchased in 1978, with which I am quite comfortable. It is a bit on the large size for CC, but is do-able. I want to make an informed decision on my next handgun purchase. I have never shot an auto or semi-auto. There are no gun ranges in my immediate area, the closest is about an hour away.

Having said all that, what would be a good first CCW? I have lost touch with the gun market until recently. I have realatively small hands, and due to an accident a few years ago, have a slightly weakened grip in my right (strong) hand. I am looking for a good "stopping power" weapon, easy to conceal, for personal protection. I have looked at the Glock 26, and the Ruger SP101 with a 2 1/4" barrel. Thanks for any and all helpful information you can give me.

c-mama
09-21-2007, 21:09
:wavey: Hi there. I think that the best thing for you to do is take a day trip to a range and really try out some different guns, with the mindset of a carry gun.

Then, go with what you are comfortable with.

fnfalman
09-22-2007, 00:01