Anyone published recently? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Anyone published recently?

bwphoto
10-02-2007, 13:07
I thought I'd give Neph something to see in his forum :wavey: and check on those GTers who believe the pen is truly mightier.

FWIW, my degree is in journalism. Somehow I ended up working as a (non-journalist) photographer instead. Over the next year or so, I see myself transitioning back to writing and have been considering different angles to pursue. Small town paper to get some clips, web-journalism / essays/editorials for established sites (like America's Future Foundation), magazines, short fiction...

We'll see where the adventure goes. There are so many opportunities. When people wonder how I can make a living in the arts as a photographer they forget that they're seeing thousands of images in a day. Someone was paid to make them and I see the same sort of opportunities with writing.

TheVeryIdea
10-04-2007, 21:14
I majored in journalism, too, and was a newspaper reporter for about five years. I miss the deadline rush, but otherwise I'm happy working in a more subdued form of public communications. ;)

Still, that itch to write more rears its head now and again.

I'm looking for motivation. I'm always looking for motivation. I've tried blogging, but haven't kept up with it, which I guess is OK since I only do it to keep the pen lubed, so to speak. I think I need to concentrate on one form or style; I've found a new interest in writing fiction that I didn't have before. I need to make it more of a habit.

Have you written anything specific lately?

bwphoto
10-04-2007, 22:52
By motivation do you mean a topic? I think that comes from opening your eyes and thinking "hey, I could write about this." Of course, it depends on what sort of motivation you're seeking. Motivation for a novel would be different than motivation for an essay on the current failings of Michigan's government. Although I could probably write a novel on that topic.