Not sure if I passed NREMT exam [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Not sure if I passed NREMT exam

MissAmericanPie
10-22-2007, 20:06
:(

I studied many hours per day for two weeks. I read the Brady EMS book cover to cover taking notes as I went. I made pretty flash cards to study vitals, oxygen admin., AED sequence, and treatments for shock, trauma, cardiac arrest, fractures, spinal injuries, etc. I reviewed my notes regularly. I obsessed over patient assessment. I focused on signs/symptoms and interventions for such.

However, putting it all together in a scenario and finding the BEST answer out of sometimes two technically correct answers is another story. Uggh.

I came away from this exam without any confidence. A lot of the subject matter on which I focused in my study materials was barely represented in the exam. It focused heavily on pediatrics, POC (I had about 6 or 7 questions on this), geriatrics, anaphylaxis and other allergies, and pregnancy. And because it is adaptive, it stops when you have either accumulated enough points to pass or it stops when you have not accumulated enough points to make passing a possibility even if you completed the entire exam.

I only made it to 75 questions ( anywhere between 60 and 120 are possible, I believe). And, of course I have to wait two days to get my results.

I guess I may need to fine tune my critical thinking skills, if I need to retake it. Any suggestions?

FlaFF
10-23-2007, 11:15
Dont overthink things. Airway, airway, airway.

FlaFF

MissAmericanPie
10-23-2007, 12:13
I passed!!!!! :)

I did think airway. In fact I could tell that the test was trying to throw me away from the airway on several questions to see if I would focus on the ABCs. And my instructor drilled it into us to not read into the questions any further than the information that was provided.

Anyway, this thread is all for naught. Woo-hoo!

Tvov
10-24-2007, 05:06
This thread is NOT for naught! Whooho! You passed!