Call of Duty 4 demo, fails to load on my PC. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Call of Duty 4 demo, fails to load on my PC.


Mugatu
11-04-2007, 01:00
Alpha Blend?

Glow?

Huh?

My video card is a 128MB Nvidia Geforce FX5900.

Full version of COD2 works perfectly but I can't get the COD4 demo to run.

Bowtie
11-04-2007, 11:34
Recommended Specs" These are the confirmed requirements for the game COD 4

* CPU: 2.4 GHz dual core or better is recommended
* RAM: 1G for XP; 2G for Vista is recommended
* Harddrive: 8GB of free hard drive space
* Video card: 3.0 Shader Support recommended. Nvidia Geforce 7800 or better or ATI Radeon X1800 or better



"Required (Minimum) Specs"

* CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 2.4 GHz or AMD(R) Athlon(TM) 64 2800+ processor or any 1.8Ghz Dual Core Processor or better supported
* RAM: 512MB RAM (768MB for Windows Vista
* Harddrive: 8GB of free hard drive space
* Video card: NVIDIA(R) Geforce(TM) 6600 or better or ATI(R) Radeon(R) 9800Pro or better

It downloads on mine but wont play..I have an ATI Radeon 9250. I get the same error screen you have there.

Mugatu
11-05-2007, 14:59
Thanks. How much is a new video card?

Bowtie
11-05-2007, 15:38
Depends.The required card is about 400 but I see them on ebay for 140.

Me&MyG23
01-28-2008, 05:11
Alpha Blend?

Glow?

Huh?

My video card is a 128MB Nvidia Geforce FX5900.

Full version of COD2 works perfectly but I can't get the COD4 demo to run.

Is that card the overclocked 5900?? If so, I have the same card. While it has some decent power, still won't play COD4. I have another PC coming that will play COD4 without a problem.

Tvov
01-28-2008, 18:16
Hmm... I have a PIV 2g w/ 2g RAM, and ATI Radeon Pro 9600 256mb card. I don't have the full game, but the COD4 demo works really well. I do have the graphics settings on "low". I wonder if the full game will work on my comp. I am "due" for a new gaming computer, but it will be tough to get that past the wife (lol).

Me&MyG23
01-29-2008, 06:02
Hmm... I have a PIV 2g w/ 2g RAM, and ATI Radeon Pro 9600 256mb card. I don't have the full game, but the COD4 demo works really well. I do have the graphics settings on "low". I wonder if the full game will work on my comp. I am "due" for a new gaming computer, but it will be tough to get that past the wife (lol).

Sounds like your PC should be ok if you can play the Demo fine. Mine wouldn't even play that. Just keep your video card settings backed down for performance and you should be just fine.

THEPOPE
01-30-2008, 20:49
Hmm... I have a PIV 2g w/ 2g RAM, and ATI Radeon Pro 9600 256mb card. I don't have the full game, but the COD4 demo works really well. I do have the graphics settings on "low". I wonder if the full game will work on my comp. I am "due" for a new gaming computer, but it will be tough to get that past the wife (lol).


I have the very same card, and it does run fine, as well as , y'know...mostly smooth.

My settings are merely set to auto, basically , except the things I don't want, like in-game-music.

I did, however need a change for the game to load....weird thing is it had to do with the sound...

:cool:

Dream308
01-31-2008, 11:36
I build computers more of less part of business and hobby .. watch what you buy.. and make sure your motherboard/mobo supports.. PCI-E(PCI-Express x16) Otherwise you will need to upgrade.. motherboards.. which means you basically have to start back from scratch.

Cod is mildly demanding.. you can get a foxconn 7900gs for around 109.99 or so.. not to bad for the performance.. when your picking a video card though.. there are good and bad.. you will for sure get what you pay for.. the more money the more performance.

Hamrhed
02-23-2008, 08:42
I just downloaded the CoD4 demo- and subsequently had to upgrade my DirectX before it would run. The download will update your current DirectX to the latest one... get it here (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=2DA43D38-DB71-4C1B-BC6A-9B6652CD92A3&displaylang=en)

Btw, the demo is great! If you like FPS' as I do, then this one is for you :)