Lee County Pistol Permit questions [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Lee County Pistol Permit questions

Naja
11-19-2007, 12:03
Hey everybody, I'm new to the site and wondering if anybody can help me out. I'm a grad student at Auburn from out of state, thinking of applying for a pistol permit, and I've got a couple of questions.

First, is there a minimum period of time that you have to have been a resident of Lee county in order to get a permit? I've been here for a couple of years, but am just now getting my AL driver's license, so by state records I imagine it'll show as though I just now established residency. I know that some other counties require residency for 6 months before a permit will be granted, anybody know about here?

Second, there's a line on the form where you have to list your reason for applying for a permit, how specific do you need to be? Other than general self defense, I'd like the permit because I do a lot of solitary fieldwork at night (3 or 4 sessions, 5 days each, every couple of months), and I've heard from people local to my field sites (including a conversation with a local LEO) that there are a lot of snakes (the 2 legged kind) around where I camp and work, plus there is a good amount of hog sign in some of my stream bottoms. Do I need to go into all of that or will just plain "self defense" suffice?

Third, I've got no felonies, but I have a misdemeanor (non-violent, non-drug related) from 5 years back. Fully resolved, no jail time, just paid my fine and never even saw a judge. I've read the state laws and think I understand them (I'm a biologist, not a lawyer), and spoken to a LEO from another county, so I think I'm good as far as state law goes, but it is my understanding that any county sherrif can deny a permit to anyone they deem unsuitable. Any opinions as to whether or not our local sherrif might deem me "unsuitable" due to this?